on “the book”

February 3, 2008 § Leave a comment

Whenever I sit down to write there is that rush of adrenalin akin to what I felt in high school at a gym class track meet. Somehow I had ended up on the “start” line, wondering why I was doing this and could I do it and a 500 yard dash was not a dash exactly but there went the start signal and off I’d go as fast as I possibly could and I knew I was going to feel like throwing up when it was over. But I did it.  Determined to win or place. And I did.

Yes, as many times as I’ve approached the desk to write, I’ve had that same feeling. Except when I’m done writing for the day, I am ebullient rather than nauseous.

A colleague has more than graciously invited me to edit someone else’s work, a first book (and it’s important to note that it’s his first book – egads) with her and it is some of the most fun I’ve had at “work” in ages. But of course, during the process, there are hours and hours of working alone.

Which is where I am now.

I have put in a load of laundry, exercised for 30 minutes, walked the dogs, planned dinner (hours away), straightened up my office, thought about what to wear to my “regular” weekday job and opened the front door to let in all this sunlight.

It is time to sit down and write/edit/rewrite. I am faced with working on two scenes with which I have no experience.  That is, in part, why they call it fiction.

I’m off to shake hands with the Muse.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading on “the book” at This Writing Life ....

meta

