If I do this, can I read that?

April 20, 2008 § 1 Comment

The problem with reading is that it’s (physically) passive.

It is difficult to scrub the floor with one hand and hold a book in the other while reading. One is so likely to miss scrubbing fiercely in the corners and get that slop stain off the floor near the dog’s bowl. And while it is quite possible to vacuum with one hand while reading and holding a book, one is likely to get stuck going over and over the same part of the carpet while getting lost in lovely text, meanwhile the poor carpet gets its fibers stretched and plucked to pieces. Certainly there’s no cleaning windows while reading. Out of the question, again, unless one is willing to get lost in rhythmic motion while remaining ignorant of the results – glass can be so smeary-centric. 

So, here’s the rub. If I perform a certain housekeeping task, can there be a reading reward? For each one…I mean.

Mop the kitchen floor should equal reading the fiction in the current THE NEW YORKER.

Do a load of laundry, start to finish, from wash to fold-and-put-away should equal last month’s VOGUE, the second half (where most articles are).

Walk the dogs for three miles to burn off the excesses (300 calories) of last night’s gala party should equal…two chapters in the mystery I’m just getting into.

Cleaning three bathrooms – um, that should be worth reading WAR AND PEACE, but no, seriously, I’ll be happy actually with writing two pages of an essay I’m working on.

Vacuuming the living room furniture to eliminate random dog hairs and to overall freshen it should be equal to a few more chapters of that mystery (by Victoria Thompson – don’t ask – it’s a reading phase I’m going through.)

So, what is polishing silver, washing the dining room curtains and changing all the beds worth? Let me know. It’s gotta be good or I just won’t get those tasks done today. What do you think? Please write and let me know. I am now starting the kitchen floor task…

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to If I do this, can I read that?

  • Nora says:

    it is a problem! especially when one goes to the gym, knows she should be running but is engrossed in a book… so she choses the bike route. random side note: Jennifer Weiner has a NEW book out!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading If I do this, can I read that? at This Writing Life ....

meta

