Write on Wednesday…a list

July 9, 2008 § 8 Comments

Do you ever feel the need to jump start your writing? What drains the energy from your “writing mind”?  What do you do when your creative battery dies?  Becca, who gets us all talking which is excellent, posed the bolded questions for this week’s  Write On Wednesday. After a 10-hour tech write day, the following is all I have left to offer even though I know it’s cheesey to take the list approach…nevertheless…

Writing jump starts:
Reading Magazines: Looking at, paging through and reading magazines always “jumps” my writing. Hard to explain why. ( I DO love mags.)
Visiting SLAM:  the STL Art Musuem is free. And fabulous. Plenty of room to wander and stuff that inspires. And the right kind of quiet for finding a corner and writing.
Being outdoors, with pen and notebook. It’s just being outside that does it. (No, not in the snowy winter cold, but any other season, yes.)

Energy thiefs that drain the writing mind
Housework (though sometimes, scrubbing, cleaning and sorting has the opposite effect and actually energizes me…go figure)
TV
Tight schedules
Meetings 
Fat meals

When the creativity fizzles, I… 
Let it be for awhile…I do something totally else, like wash my car, sort stuff and throw it away, etc.
Create some visual art (draw, paste photos in books, make cards, whatever)
Sigh and thump around the house
Get HM to take me out, or swim
Talk with writer friends
Shop for and purchase a new journal/notebook
Pick up John Garnder’s ART OF FICTION

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Write on Wednesday…a list

  • Becca says:

    I like the list format – it’s clear, and concise, and you’ve given us some great tips for getting the creative juices flowing again. I like the idea of strolling through an art museum. And being outside on a beautiful day always helps my mood.

    I can relate to the fatique after spending a day tech writing…me too!

    Thanks for sharing with Write On Wendnesday!

  • jeanie says:

    Being outside is working for me this week. Right now I’m by a clear blue lake under a cloudless blue sky with only nature sounds to keep me company. After a stressful week, I feel as though I’m in heaven and maybe, just maybe, will get something down worth hanging onto!

  • anno says:

    I like lists in general — they are short and promise something I can easily read before my next interruption — and I like yours in particular. It reminds me that I’ve promised myself a trip to the University Art Museum this week, and a long walk through the Arboretum. I hope your work week settles down a bit and you find some time to reconnect with your creative self.

  • Tammy says:

    That was perfect for being pooped. 😉 I loved reading the list that drains you, especially fat meals. lol

  • oh says:

    Becca, thanks for your support!
    Jeanie- Let’s keep this beautiful weather rolling along!
    Anno – of course I’m curious about your University Art Museum, and Arboretum. Lovely!
    Hi, Tammy – I think I’ve just eaten a “fat meal!” (We brought home takeout (yikes) and ate in front of the TV and talked and talked…)

  • Redness says:

    Love your post especially being a list lover … some good ideas there that don’t seem to take you too far away from the task at hand – thanks too, a wonderful merry whirl – you got that right 🙂

  • kate says:

    I get drained from emotional things and am finding ways to keep from getting to into the thick of emotional turmoil. Gardening is what keeps me inspired and writing. It’s much harder in the winter, although I’ve discovered that fiddle playing gets my creative juice a-flowing.

    Good post!

  • oh says:

    Redness, Lists work…I believe list-making was a medieval “thing.” Must check on that.

    Kate, A fiddle? wow, now there’s an instrument that gets feet tapping and or spirits soaring!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write on Wednesday…a list at This Writing Life ....

meta

