WriteOnWednesday…schedules

July 16, 2008 § 8 Comments

Becca’s prompt this week: How does writing fit into your daily life?  What’s your ideal time to write, and why? Do you “write on schedule” or “when the spirit moves you”?

A writing schedule? What a good idea, I say to myself. But wait, I have freelance deadlines to meet. And as soon as those are met, then I’ll schedule myself in terms of creative writing. Ahahaha! And so it goes…I hand in a project, settle down to look at what day of the week I will reach what goal regarding my own writing and, oops, here’s another contracted project suddenly to which I cannot say “no” and so the personal “writing schedule idea” takes a back seat while I pound out the contracted piece.

I do grease the wheels with journal writing (and don’t allow whining in there – only writing exercises and observations) and I have three creative pieces, meaning no one has asked for them – they are like rear wheel drive – I have to keep pushing them from behind, use my own power without the word “deadline” to keep them moving, and they are thus inching along.

Bottom line: I work best in the morning on my own stuff.
I work best in the evening on freelance.
I think it has to do with the light.
In the morning, with the sunrise, there is all that promise and space in front of me and working on a short story or photo journal stretches out before me, seemingly endlessly.
(Then off to work I go).
And in the evenings, when I’m working to a freelance deadline, there is a goal, a work to finish, with the diminishing of light, the dark, the slow creep of fatigue and I tell myself to stay sharp, get it done and the reward is rest, reading, a bit of TV and laughing with my husband HM who tolerates my sometimes nutty “schedule.”
Weekends? Bliss. Early on both days I blog, stretch, read, journal and slip into working on my own creative stuff. For which I should likely set a deadline…?  Nah.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to WriteOnWednesday…schedules

  • laylou says:

    write? as in pen to paper? geez… um, sometimes when i’m on a plane but then i get annoyed cause it’s not my “regular,” journal and God forbid my thoughts be separate from all the others. Occiasionally on a Sunday morning if I get up early or late at night during the week if I can’t sleep. I don’t feel like I’m reading and writing enough lately, though. I must fix that.

  • Tammy says:

    I like the sunrise, sunset motivations and the understanding rewards.

  • Becca says:

    I totally relate to your reasons for writing when you do. I also feel more creative in the morning, and I think it is the early daylight that inspires me.

    Great post – thanks for adding Write on Wednesday into your schedule 😉

  • oh says:

    Oh, Becca! that early morning light! If you turned down all the other sounds, you might hear a whole lot of (us) writers, scratching away on paper or tapping away at our creative works!
    Tammy – You would think I could work without reward, but sometimes, after writing, isn’t great to treat oneself, even if it’s just to a cool drink or, reading!
    Nory! Can’t separate a girl from her journal, right? Your blog is an awesome writing “habit” as well.

  • seachanges says:

    Seems to me you’ve got it sussed!

  • oh says:

    Dear Seachanges, I wish I DID have it sussed! But writing to Becca’s prompts does allow one to sort a lot of things out, and voila! found my own pattern. I must say, though, a full time job can kind of interfere with creative “drifting” or scheduling!

  • AnnieElf says:

    I totally relate to morning writing. I feel fresh and ready then. It’s always before work and I’m generally late. Yes, indeed, weekends are bliss, pure bliss.

  • anno says:

    I keep returning to this post, each time feeling a little too awestruck to comment. Back in the days when I was a tech writer, maybe I talked about having my own writing projects, but I’m pretty certain that after 7 pm, I actually turned into a blithering idiot, good for nothing but trashy novels, videos, and chinese carryout. Your focus and discipline are impressive!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading WriteOnWednesday…schedules at This Writing Life ....

meta

