What books did he choose?

July 20, 2008 § 2 Comments

Memes are rampant in blogworld and are especially fun it seems during the summer season. A good way to get to know people, enjoy “aha!” moments of sameness and agreeability, they are also a great way to glean ideas, and especially book references!

I was going to focus on one meme refrain: What book would you like to be stuck on a deserted island with? But that would have me pacing around the room and driving myself nuts trying to choose or imagine THE book I would select, and let’s not think I’m actually stuck on the island but rather, choose to be there – that changes everything, right? So, here’s sort of the same question…

I haven’t done my research very well, as in, I don’t even know if the actual book poses the question but in the movie  THE TIME MACHINE,  the hero, George I think, is going to go “out there” again, having traveled and returned home safely once already in his rather puny time machine. The romantics among us will assume he returns to the Eloi.

Anyway, at the end of the film, his friend and his housekeeper have just discovered George gone again. They note, looking at his shelves, that he has taken three books with him. (I don’t recall how they know it’s 3 books, rather than 6 or 2; I guess the housekeeper was that good when she dusted.) 

Maybe the books are to keep him company, entertain him, read late at night when he can’t sleep; maybe they’re to build a new civilization – I dunno. As I mentioned, I haven’t done the research so I’m don’t know if the actual novel ends this way or if it’s just a cinematic ploy.

Anyway: the question.  What 3 books, or even 1,would George take with him as he travels in time?

(No, you don’t have to have read the book in order to play…)

Tagging Nory, Becca, LisaShoreacres, Seachanges and Qugrainne for starters! (sorry, couldn’t resist)

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to What books did he choose?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading What books did he choose? at This Writing Life ....

meta

