FYI…

July 22, 2008 § 3 Comments

It ain’t all peaches and cream. Did I say we laugh as we bump into one another in the kitchen? Not if the other guy is holding a paintbrush. Went to work yesterday with a slash of white paint on my arm that I didn’t notice until Meeting #1. By meeting #3, I was glued to my chair, carefully “unshowing” my white-on-tan-body art.

And cooking in there is getting hellacious. Most stuff has been swept from the counters and hidden (as though the cupboard and pantry doors will keep out the insidious dust from sanding the walls and the wood trim!) But you better wipe everything off before cooking in it, drinking from it or putting food on it. This is enough to dissuade the most savvy cook and I’m not even close to being a savvy cook. In the magazine stories, the family is always going out to eat during renovation. Let’s get serious here, people!

Snarl cleans up as he goes which is remarkable really. But the kitchen table, (no, I didn’t picture that in the last blog, did I?) is a fright, loaded with buckets of paint, the sander, the Xacto knife (TM), the screwdriver, pictures that were once hung up, putty knives, spackle, etc etc etc. Ah, my beloved table that we lugged all over Brooklyn, NYC, NJ, NC, FL and here!  And it, too, will be under construction when the paint is finally drying on the walls – the table gets stripped, sanded and refinished.

I see it. I see what people have warned me about. The ripple effect. We began with the walls. We’ll just “refresh” them – remove the wallpaper and paint the walls. It will be nice. uh huh. Yeah. Now we’re talking new sink, refinished cabinets and have already ordered new patio doors.

Sigh. I am NOT cooking tonight. I have been eyeing the foyer floor, though. Now that we have a sander, I could sand that floor and refinish it…ok, no.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to FYI…

  • shoreacres says:

    OH! I found that you had popped in, and following the link, and started to read, and then read and read and read….

    and started thinking, and rewriting, and jotting down notes…

    and read some more, and then thought: to whom does all this wonder belong?

    OH!

  • shoreacres says:

    My goodness, look at all that excitement up above. Perhaps it wasn’t you who popped in but someone who clicked the link you so nicely provided.

    In any event, I have had a wondrous time here and will be back. Just now, I need to finish a little piece for my own bloggie.
    What fun it must be for you to have time for so much writing!
    I am just thrilled to have landed here finally. You’ll be in my blogroll shortly.

    A good evening to you.

    Linda

  • oh says:

    Linda – good to hear from you. BTW, you are no doubt current on happenings in the Midwest and know that the flood waters are receding. In fact, it’s getting awfully dry and we’re freezing in our air-conditioning and sweating to pieces outdoors – but I do love summer.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading FYI… at This Writing Life ....

meta

