WriteOnWednesday…cultiver votre jardin

July 30, 2008 § 5 Comments

 

 

 

To cultivate my creativity:

 I steal “alone” time.
I write things down that sound like whining but evolve once I get to the bottom of the page.
I like to get into cities, drawi from all that energy, soak it up, get it on a page.

Things that make me come alive:
People, as in:
     HM (I first fell in love with him because of our conversations…) who keeps me thinking
      my kids who are cool, active young adults who keep me sharp 
smiling, walking and smiling
shopping without buying anything
poetry – stuff I understand, usually Nature topics
drawing in my  journal (I can’t draw, but it wakes me up and I morph drawings into writing)
being outdoors (tho’ I am not your typical outdoors person)
looking at architecture – interior and exterior
music and singing!
the scent of lavender
playing music anddancing in the library (of our house) when no one is around
challenges, like writing something odd or different or tackling a management problem
high fashion
running with our big dog

Am I doing those things?

Several, as often as possible – (most are accessible)

and BTW, Becca, the writer who has been perhaps “key” in my life? Well, there are two. Charles Dickens early on; loved David C and Oliver T and the writing. And by college years, Annie Dillard. Who can write richer?

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to WriteOnWednesday…cultiver votre jardin

  • My journals are full of random quotes, random thoughts, pix, drawings, whatever strikes my muse. Many times I think my writing is all whining, but like you, when I get to the bottom of the page, I usually have a decent thread of thought and it helps launch my muse in many different directions!

  • You are doing great. I too feel creativity is what it takes to perceive things.

    Creativity

  • seachanges says:

    What a great list of observations! You are so right that all those experiences are what feed creativity.

  • Becca says:

    I love this inspiring list of things that make you come alive! I like the idea of drawing “morphing” into writing…interesting thought, and a good way to explore some other creative outlets.

  • oh says:

    Dear Wow-ers all – What a treat to come home from a looong day and find you here…
    BBN – don’t you love a journal, full of stuff? It’s like having a finished book, just with a “realistic” order to it…
    Guatami – a treat to hear from you!
    Becca – I so look forward to a little journal time tonight- craving some creativity! You and the WOW-ers give me such a boost.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading WriteOnWednesday…cultiver votre jardin at This Writing Life ....

meta

