I suspect this one has been around the barn more than once … so I’m giving it more of a writerly-bookish answer approach …

September 2, 2008 § 3 Comments

1. My uncle once: gave me and my roommate a ride – we were hitchhiking home and he encountered us halfway. Oh, it wasn’t good. We wanted to suprise my parents by  just showing up. Thinking they wouldn’t ask how we got there. But Unc told them the story, shaking his head and tch-tching. Yikes.

2. Never in my life: have I read ULYSSES.

3. When I was five: I knew I wanted to write. Not just write ‘on” things with my crayons and markers, but actually write things that the adults would enjoy reading.

4. High school was: a good time and place to read a lot, waiting, waiting, to get out of town.

5. I will never forget: my first publishing paycheck. (It doesn’t count, really, not at all. WOMAN’S WORLD accepted a piece I wrote about my husband, also including his picture which I sent in. Egads- it was awesome feeling, and thus, the byline addiction began!)

6. Once I met: Diane Von Furstenburg. I had to interview her. I kept it blessedly short yet had no lack of detail to include in my article.

7. There’s this girl I know: who never shuts up. And she is not aware of it. But it’s ok. She’s just out there.

8. Once, at a bar: I got everyone to dance.

9. By noon, I’m usually: done with work at the office and ready to go outdoors, then read, then sit down and work for the rest of the day, on my stuff! hahahaha. my work day does not end ’til 5 (or later). But really, I have most stuff done by noon. America doesn’t have the workweek lined out very well.

10. Last night: What? I made a brilliant simple dinner, cleaned up, talked on phone, oh, blah blah blah, it all sounds so ordinary but it was lovely.

11. If only I had: earned an MFA.

12. Next time I go to church: the minister will point at me and ask “where have you been?”

13. What worries me most: is someone needing me and I don’t know it.

14. When I turn my head left I see: our bookshelves.

15. When I turn my head right I see: the hallway to the kitchen.

16. You know I’m lying when: I answer a question very quickly (unless you’re asking if I want ice cream). I am typically a very deliberate answerer, not too glib.

17. What I miss most about the Eighties is: the music!!!! What? Am I the only one who loves the Cars, early Madonna, the entire Euro sound, the Thompson twins, flock of seagulls, WHAM!, Phil when he was with Genesis,  etc.?

18. If I were a character in Shakespeare I’d be: oh geez, what’s-her-name in Taming of the Shrew. (It’s “Kate” in the modern musical).

19. By this time next year: I should have some short stories … finished!

20. A better name for me would be: I dunno.  My name is part of me, yeah, even tho’ plenty of other people have it.

21. I have a hard time understanding: the writer Beckett. Or, dada-ism.

22. If I ever go back to school, I’ll: get my MFA.

23. You know I like you if: I give you a nickname.

25. Take my advice, never: say “yes” to a writing project if you don’t mean it.

26. My ideal breakfast is: eaten at 11:30-ish. With coffee. At a cafe. With HM and some magazines OR the New York Times.

27. A song I love but do not have is: Mr. Brightside (the Killers?)

28. If you visit my hometown, I suggest you: take me with you, to give you a tour.

29. Why won’t people: watch less TV?

30. If you spend a night at my house: you’ll have to say you’re tired and want to sleep or else I’ll keep you up talking about books and travel and drinking wine and finding out what you want to do the next day.

31. I’d stop my wedding for: a stampede of horses, or if I happened to show up on the wrong day (didn’t that happen in FAR FROM THE MADDING CROWD?)

32. The world could do without: ill-placed sarcasm.

33. I’d rather lick the belly of a cockroach than: throw out any of our books.

34. My favourite blonde(s) is/are: Owen Wilson (not very literary of me, is it?!)

35. Paper clips are more useful than: staples.

36. If I do anything well it’s:  coach people on getting things down on paper. (as for coaching myself? ah, um … not so much. Strange, huh?)

37. And by the way: I am procrastinating right now.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to I suspect this one has been around the barn more than once … so I’m giving it more of a writerly-bookish answer approach …

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I suspect this one has been around the barn more than once … so I’m giving it more of a writerly-bookish answer approach … at This Writing Life ....

meta

