Bike at the Beach … the story

September 21, 2008 § 5 Comments

The bike, pictured several blogs ago, belongs to the fellow now in the picture. He was out in the water, waist deep, with a net to catch his own bait. He then returned to the bucket near his bike and shook the net full of very small fish into his bucket. The gulls were hopeful, but went unrewarded.

I guess that’s how you get bait if you don’t want to buy it at the fishing pier shop. Rather a good idea, I’d say.
Might be an interesting living, actually.

So, what do you do? (favorite American question)
Me? Oh, I stand in the water on a clear day, or a cloudy one, little matter, and cast my net to scoop up tiny fish. I dump them in a bucket, keeping them alive, of course, then I pedal home. On the way, I stop at several of my customers’ businesses to sell them their bait. Not only is it fairly eco-friendly enterprise, but everyone wins (except the little fish) and I have a rather decent tan besides, but don’t worry, I do use a good SPF.

Hmmm … and in the evenings? Could be a writer. Surely there are hundreds of fishing tails to tell!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Bike at the Beach … the story

  • seachanges says:

    It certainly looks and sounds very idyllic…. Does real life get in the way?

  • qugrainne says:

    How lovely and romantic. Sometimes I wish my life were so simple… especially on Sunday night!

  • anno says:

    Nice work, if you can get it, right? Who says you have to lash yourself to a desk…

  • Jeanie says:

    I’m so glad you posted the story — I really loved the photograph — it was so evocative and a story in itself. Now we know the real one. Poor gulls, though…

  • oh says:

    Seachanges, I guess that’s what vacations are for, to imagine doing such things. I’d go nuts catching bait; I don’t like things swimming around me that I can’t really see – a dolphin, OK. Otherwise, no. But to work outdoors has serious allure.
    Qugrainne – Oddly, Sunday night has a habit of “erasing” all the benefits of a weekend, doesn’t it? Honestly, we need 3 days weekends. Imagine the difference!
    Anno – I find I’ve been totally restless at my desk lately. The more I’m outdoors or dashing around, the more difficult to sit and focus – unless it’s on MY stuff! (which I don’t mean to sound snooty, only that I’d love to be writing independently, full time!)
    Hi, Jeanie – I wonder if the bike guy has a day job, and wears a suit during the week? Don’t worry – the gulls do all right at the end of the day when the guys abandon their bait buckets! And they seem to work in tandem with the pelicans, too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bike at the Beach … the story at This Writing Life ....

meta

