WriteonWednesday – WOW – speed vs creativity

October 3, 2008 § 8 Comments

How about you?  Do you find yourself moving too fast through life?  What’s your favorite way to moodle and make the mornin’ last?   How does slowing down affect your creativity?

Becca’s weekly prompt was offered two days ago. I have likely taken the idea of slowing down a bit too literally – it’s Friday already! (and i am tripping on over-the-counter meds for this ridiculous impacted head cold.)

Favorite way to Moodle:
Get up early, before the rest of the household (man and dogs)
Those early morning hours, with no preset agenda, absolutely rock! Nothing seems impossible. There are words and pictures and word pictures … my goal is to be a morning person AND an evening-late night person.
How does slowing down affect your creativity?
There are hundreds of loose ends in a day, a week, an evening. Slowing down for me means pushing them all back, like moving the dirt in a pot aside when putting a plant in the middle of it, like scooping aside the sand on the beach when prepping a “flat” place for a sandcastle.

That slowing and clearing allows excitement (rather than tedium) about the writing. It ain’t easy. I get into this justification thing about it all, like, is it OK to spend several hours writing something that might go nowhere?

Yes, it is.
Everything we do does not have to be purposeful. (In writing these words, I am reminding myself of the same.) 

So many of us are so used to constantly ramping and amping it up. We even “schedule” our leisure time. That hinges on why, in part, so many of us are voracious readers. Reading is something we can do on the run (as well as being curled up in a chair), with a book in the car, one in our purse, one in the kitchen, one by the bed, etc.

Writing is different. You need a place, a posture, a little space, a tool or two. And you need active think time, not passive quiet time (like books or TV.)

First we have to slow down. Look around. Maybe do nothing. Breathe. Slowing down is like opening a huge door and air rushes in and reduces all the smallness of things to mere nothing and leaves the place shimmering. And in that shimmer, any creativity is possible.

And there in that shimmer is the writer’s favorite pen, shining like Excalibur to be pulled from the stone and begin its creative trip in the writer’s hand.

That’s why it’s always so good to hear and read about how all of you are doing it, getting the words down and then out there for others to read.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to WriteonWednesday – WOW – speed vs creativity

  • Bree says:

    Ok, so I’m a moron. I finally put together that you are Oh and westcobitch. Duh…

    I love your post. Are you channeling me because these are my thoughts exactly. Your favorite way to moodle is me to a tee. When I was married, my husband just never got that part. Just didnt understand how I could stand to be alone. I love early mornings before anything stirs.

    Hope you are feeling better. The crud this year is so lingering. I am behind on posting WOW as well and just finished mine.

  • I am kind of revelling in slowing down. I thought why not take it easy? What’s the big hurry, anyway?

    I liked reading your thouhts.

    How groovy can you get?

  • oh says:

    Bree – an early morning compatriot!
    BTW, when I set up my blog, I knew absolutely nothing or I would have made my url my name, using Oh, (not crazy about westcobich but the blog was going to be about something entirely else). anyway, I’m loathe to change anything or start another one. I would never step away from this desk if I did! So glad you stopped by. And I’ve come home from work and feeling a bit better.

    GT – The slowing down comes with the onset of winter here, too. That should make it easier … I think!

  • Andi says:

    “Slowing down is like opening a huge door and air rushes in and reduces all the smallness of things to mere nothing and leaves the place shimmering.”

    Yes, that shimmery open breathing . . . so lovely and clear in your words.

  • anno says:

    I loved the images here, especially the smoothing sand away, the shimmer we discover when our mind is quiet.

    But you really got me with this line: is it OK to spend several hours writing something that might go nowhere? Now there’s a challenge that takes a lot of energy to overcome. That may be why I do my best moodling on the treadmill or while folding laundry; such activity quiets my physical restlessness, and I find that if I can develop an idea while doing something else, then I’ve worked up the energy, the urgency, to ignore that pestering voice.

  • oh says:

    Andi – thanks. (and i’m still thrilled you put my book review on your blog. It earned me some “blog cred” around this house!

    Anno – Good tip on the laundry thing! (and there’s always laundry). I’m going to go fold AND iron now because I have this window of time to write but no deadlines. I’m gonna try the laundry cure, thanks.

  • Becca says:

    “Slowing down is like opening a huge door and air rushes in and reduces all the smallness of things to mere nothing and leaves the place shimmering. And in that shimmer, any creativity is possible.”

    Now, these are words I can live by! I’m ready to put some shimmer in my imagination 🙂

  • oh says:

    Ah, Becca, I suspect you will have no trouble stirring your imagination. Do you think the work you do as a tech writer helps?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading WriteonWednesday – WOW – speed vs creativity at This Writing Life ....

meta

