Reading … chez moi

October 5, 2008 § 8 Comments

How odd, you might say.
What took you so long?

I dunno, I answer. Being grounded by this sinus thing, though, had me wandering around the house, looking for some sun.  Some place that no one else goes to, where no one else sits.
This is it.
My reading spot.
At last.

Now, what to read? I ask.
Finish CRY THE BELOVED COUNTRY? (I’m not enjoying it. Only reading it because it’s a classic and I’ve always wondered about it, you know …)
Read more of HIGH STAKES (one of those nouveau vampire novels that are shouldering chicklit aside?)
Finish THE YELLOW LIGHTED BOOKSHOP? (another one I plan to give away if I can just finish the last 30 pages?)
Maybe read through one of my GRANTA’s, the one focused on the new American novelists? (Might suit my restlessness-thanks-to-over-the-counter-sinus-decongestants.)
Or THE ARSONIST’S GUIDE TO WRITER’S HOMES IN NEW ENGLAND. (It’s the newest kid on the shelf, feeding my book addiction. No idea what it’s about. I could not resist the title. Yes, it’s fiction.)
Or, catch up on the NEW YORKER mags that are stacked on the coffee table.

Or, go for a walk and cram some of that fresh air into my lungs, even if I have to mouth breathe. Surely lying about will do nothing to shake up or break up the lock this virus has on my head.

to be continued …

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Reading … chez moi

  • qugrainne says:

    That is a lovely, sunny spot. Go for the walk and then snuggle in and read something that will be fun! No sense torturing yourself (Cry the Beloved…) when you aren’t feeling well. Grab that mug of hot tea, hold the steam to your face and dive into something that will take you away.
    Hmmmmm, sounds like a good plan….

  • nova says:

    That spot is so inviting… I want to step into the photo and curl up with a book right now.

    Sorry to hear about the sinus thing.

  • Courtney says:

    I feel you…I have a chest cold. The walk will help, no matter how much you don’t want to go. And you are a better woman than I…I’ve been watching movies all weekend…

  • anno says:

    Your reading nook looks lovely, but when you’re ill, you need comfort foods and comfort reading. Personally, I’d skip Cry The Beloved Country and head straight for that stack of New Yorkers. I hope a walk and a hot cup of tea have helped you feel better.

  • Becca says:

    I agree with Anno – when you’re not feeling well, indulge yourself in reading of the purely “feel good” order.

    Hope you’re feeling better after some fresh air!

  • oh says:

    thank you, all! I did go for that walk, saw some neighbors, then came home to brew tea and curl up and finished the silly vampire book and got through 2 New Yorkers. Later HM took me to the drive-through for a cherry limeade.
    And here is Monday already! I’m armed with a box of Kleenex.

  • Jeanie says:

    I feel your sinus pain — it’s my Achilles Head, too. (And it’s raining here today, so you know where that leads.) But I love your reading corner and it sounds as though you have plenty to spend time with. I’m eager to hear about the arsonist’s book!

  • oh says:

    Jeanie – I can’t find it. I cleaned last week and stacked and sorted and then, couldn’t find the book. So I read some vampire thing. I’m over that topic now.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reading … chez moi at This Writing Life ....

meta

