Friday … Orchids and related lit

October 17, 2008 § 7 Comments

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(photo taken in living room … in the front window where the frost can’t touch it.)

HM and I enjoy wandering through the city gardens. Once a year there is an orchid show there. One room is dedicated to all kinds of orchids that are tucked into trees, hang from the ceiling, are arranged in pots, come out of the ground – everywhere, everywhere in the room, there is nothing but orchids! And their scent. Truthfully, if they weren’t so beautiful, it would be creepy, borderline beauty, like something out of Hawthorne’s Rappaccini’s Daughter. Orchids have a rep for being delicate, don’t they? I don’t know a lot about them. Just that some people raise them and dedicate whole rooms to them. And then there’s Susan Orleans Orchid Thief, which I haven’t read yet, but did see the movie Adaptation and kinda said “what?” but was fascinated at the same time.

 

On our anniversary two months ago, HM gave me a three-foot pot of orchids. I don’t remember what kind. I read the note on  how to care for them and carefully tucked it somewhere which means now I can’t find it!

But they press on, with their own dedicated gnome plant stand in the living room, near the windows. They don’t seem to require a hothouse. I have a watering pattern that seems to work. I will have to go online and see what to do for them because they’re something like a poinsettia in that when the flowers are done, I can save the plant and coax it back to flowering after several months.

I dunno.  In the meantime, they eclipse everything else in the room, singing.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Friday … Orchids and related lit

  • laylou says:

    that’s a wonderful picture. seriously.

  • lovely photo. I have read the Orchid Thief, it makes more sense than Adaptation, which I thought was quite weird…. I love the last line of your post….

  • qugrainne says:

    Gorgeous orchid! I have received many orchid plants over the years, but the only one that has survived is one like you photographed. I can’t remember the name of it either! It blooms faithfully, once a year. The rest of the year it just sits quietly, soaking up the late afternoon sun. I hope yours survives to bloom for you, again.

  • oh says:

    Thanks, Laylou. You can see the plant today when you come over!

    Crafty- yeah, the movie Adaptation was a bit … jumpy?

    Hi, Qugrainne – yes,I hope I can keep this plant going but I tend to forget about the “quiet” plants!

  • Jeanie says:

    This photo is astonishing. You can see every detail! Beautiful!

  • Lovely! Both the orchid, and the last line of the post… which sounds like it should have a poem built around it. 🙂

    I could guess at the type of orchid if you’d like me to try… but seeing the leaves first would really help.

  • oh says:

    Thanks, Jeanie! Just got very very lucky with the lighting (and the use of the super-close up camera function.)

    BlackswampG – the leaves are long, rather broad, very dark green, and I’ll try to snap a picture. Actually, I have to go online and see how to care for it so that it flowers again. But there are still, after two months, about 6 blooms still going.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Friday … Orchids and related lit at This Writing Life ....

meta

