writeonwednesday … goes into Friday, Part Deux

October 24, 2008 § 8 Comments

Do I write every day, asks Becca.
She also poses the question: Shouldn’t everyone write?

Yes, I write everyday. Every morning, I hammer away, sometimes for the blog, sometimes for the electronic trash heap (mind you, these are two different things!) 
At night, I squiggle, winge, and essay in my journal. On weekdays, I stammer through other people’s stuff, sometimes rewriting, sometimes stabbing it with edits, sometimes getting plain damn lyrical (in view of the fact that I work at an engineering consulting firm!)
So yeah, the writing gets done, though my stories and essays idle or go through fits and starts with me. But they move along (it’s sort of like building the pyramids, alone, but that’s ok). And I totally admire Nova. She’s nailing the 7 days a week on her own stuff.

Should everyone write?
Everyone should write the following:
    thank you notes (not just etiquette, it shows character and sincerity)
    longhand letters to their mothers (Moms love it and save them)
    longhand letters to Santa (believers or not, it’s healthy; it’s playing)
    grocery lists
    letters to their Congressmen/women
    their own resumes
    maybe a journal/journal entries (for practice; most of us writers believe in practice if not “doing”)
    notes to stick on the fridge or bulletin board
    postcards when they travel (or, even if they’re doing something cool in their own city/town)
    blogs

Everyone does NOT have to write:
   books (fiction, non-fiction, etc)
   plays
   poetry
   lyrics
   essays and articles
   news
   blogs

It would be fine if everyone tried one or all of the above (books, plays, etc) just to understand the structure involved, but no, they don’t have to. It’s not competition I’m worried about as a writer, au contraire.  It’s about the public’s general respect for and implementation of writing as a craft. That which looks simple in writing is that which is often most difficult to achieve (as a writer.)

And if we want people to read, they need well written stuff to lure them and keep them at it.
And good writing has so much to do with freedom.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to writeonwednesday … goes into Friday, Part Deux

  • Bree says:

    I love how you broke it up into have to’s and not to’s. It is so true about long hand letters to Moms. I keep every one my kids write me from either school projects or when they are actually away. Emails not so much. Its not as personal. Journal entries – definitely. Not only does it help with writing but it helps with mental stability.

  • laylou says:

    well, i write thank you notes and i suppose a letter to santa every year as well. that counts, right? i haven’t done journal writing in so long… maybe i should get on that!

  • Becca says:

    I love your writing list! I agree, not everyone needs to write books or poetry…but writing something is nice 🙂

  • jeanie says:

    Great idea — on what you should and don’t have to write in longhand. Or even at all! Splendid. So glad I could download you, my friend, for I so enjoy your blog! I, too, deplore the loss of the handwritten note, and try diligently to do at least thank you notes and birthday cards that way. I know how I feel when I get them…!

  • anno says:

    I love the verb winge, maybe especially in its British incarnation (h dropped). And I love your lists — such accurate and very precise dissection of what MUST be written and what is simply fun to try. My longhand has fallen into horrible disrepair, but this post, and your previous one with the beautiful papers, might convince me to work on it a bit.

  • oh says:

    Bree – Yes, our kids’ letters are treasures, aren’t they?
    Laylou – your journal will be there when you’re ready to write in it. That’s one of the many good qualities of a journal – it doesn’t harp, complain or snort and sigh if you ignore it for days, weeks, months!
    Becca – You continue to inspire so many of us to write, to write something. What a wonderful thing. In the meantime, I hope you have time to do your own writing, too.
    Thanks, Jeannie, for your warm comments! And next, we get to write holiday cards. I was thinking about starting now, at least getting the addresses on the envelopes…
    Anno – I have noticed that my handwriting, too, has lost its “Palmer method” clarity. I wonder if it’s because we’re so used to typing?

  • shoreacres says:

    oh ~

    I was stopped dead in my tracks by this: “And good writing has so much to do with freedom.”

    I don’t have a clue what you meant, and I don’t know why I responded so strongly to the words, but I know absolutely that you are right. I’ve turned the sentence into one of the snippets I keep taped to my monitor, and I’ll ponder.

    I do know this – your point has something to do with a “rule” I formulated for myself about two months after I started blogging: “Write, and let go”. Never mind the response, never mind “it could have been better” and certainly never mind “but that’s not what so-and-so says”…..

    I’ve been re-inspired by your posts more than once.

    Linda

  • oh says:

    Linda, Glad that line resonated. If I’d kept going, kept writing that morning, it would have become clearer, more defined, but I needed to get to work. Too bad. I was just catching my stride in my writing.
    So glad you’re out there. The blog world of writers never ceases to amaze me. In the best of ways.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading writeonwednesday … goes into Friday, Part Deux at This Writing Life ....

meta

