WOW … aka write on wednesday … nanowrimo

October 30, 2008 § 9 Comments

Like Becca, I got lost in the “days” this week. Other people’s writing, or need for it, can take a lot of time, throw you off, make you blink as you head out into the dark after work. (Yes, PLEASE turn those clocks back this weekend!)

So, how about you?  If you’ve done NaNoWriMo, what was the experience like for you?  If you’ve never done it, do you think you could?  Do you have a novel residing in you somewhere, waiting to get out?

And so Becca prompts us, cheers for us on the topic of Nanowrimo. Qugrainne’s encouragement also helped. I will jump into the Nanowrimo fray and have even sent a note to friends and family that I will be “dropping” out in terms of email (and maybe even phone calls) in order to work on this marathon. Why oh why did I do that? Will they ask me how it’s coming? what it’s about? are they in it? OMG, that was crazy. But Chris made me do it, the guy who invented and organizes Nanowrimo. He suggested that we contact friends and family and let them know we’ll be pounding away, writing our novels.

He didn’t say anything about telling our employers, though. Why not? Why didn’t he give us a form letter (along with a handwritten excuse) to give our employers who would then say “Why of course you can go home and write your book. Take all the time you need. Art is important. Yes, yes, go home!”

OK, I know it’s impossible. It won’t go like that. It will be more like me nodding off in front of my PC at work, fatigued from a wild night of writing. Or, scribbling away on my legal pad to get a few hundred words down. Word count! Word count! It’s about the big total.

Actually, it’s not. It’s all about starting something and finishing it. Nanowrimo just happens to impose the 50K word thing on it. no big deal. no problem.

I’m just gonna approach it in chapters. Chapters as defined by me. Some of it will be stuff that should be backstory, but hey, if you’re going for word count, everything can be “front” story, I’d say.

I woke up at 3:00 a.m. last night. Not because of nanowrimo (it was likely due to dessert coffee … OR, the PPT I had to give today. Major. Only 10 slides. You would have thought it was a major final exam, my doctoral thesis, a paper on which the fate of the world turned. Honestly, when I got out of there, I felt so light. I went for a walk. Bliss. I digress … can you imagine how it will be when I start writing “the novel?”

Anyway, last night, in the middle of the night,I started thinking about chapters and daily word counts. Egads.

Yes, I’ve done this twice before. The first time, I amassed 7,000 words of nattering. aNd stopped. I don’t know where I put it. Hopefully, the trash.
The second attempt was two years ago, I reached 22,000.

This time I have a better chance. Why, because of experience? nah. because of realistic expectations? nah. It will be the exercise of it, the stretching of the writing limbs and the belief.

Before he headed out to work this morning, HM said, “Write the novel.”
OK, good. He believes.

Onward.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to WOW … aka write on wednesday … nanowrimo

  • Good Luck! I’m inspired, I think I will give it a go too. Not sure how I will go with the kidlets. But might as well dive in!

  • Bonnie says:

    I am excited about this challenge too. Although I think the election might be more consuming this week, but one challenge on top of the other is great. Life is all about challenges, no?
    Bonnie

  • qugrainne says:

    I am with you, Oh! I think the simple challenge aspect of it is a good reason to try it. Who needs sleep, anyway?! I have read various pieces of advice on the topic. Some people say just do a complicated and in-depth outline. Some say write a detailed synopsis and when you think of details, whatever you do, don’t go back. Have a separate page to add detail/notes on, that you can go back and put in later, when the novel is complete. I think I will try a pretty decent outline, and then go back and write. Whatever I accomplish will satisfy me. I don’t plan to let it languish, either. I am going to finish the beast sooner or later!

  • Tiffany says:

    good luck with your noveling! I think you’re right – it is all about starting something and finishing it. I love that about nano. In my everyday life not much gets finished, laundry, cooking, schooling….on and on. Nano gets finished. Not edited, but 50,000 words finished. Challenge finished. That is satisfying!

  • Look forward to your updates! Good luck!

    Speak out

  • Becca says:

    Good for you, for setting this challenge for yourself! I’m behind you for every word, however many there are 🙂

  • Jeanie says:

    Nothing is impossible and you can do it. Think how many words you’ve written in your blog posts. Probably WAY over 50,000! Oh, I have faith in you. I KNOW this can happen!

  • anno says:

    Oh, congratulations! And good luck! I’ll be cheering you on, all the way!

  • oh says:

    Yay, Scarlet! And you’ll be a great role model to your kidlets as you type and think and pace and swoop them up into the excitement.

    Bonnie – oh YES to challenges. I’m wishing I had a laptop so I could maybe, just maybe, write a little in front of the election news. Will maybe borrow our son’s. Yeah, that will go over well, eh?

    Q … an outline. Good idea. If I get jammed, it will likely help out, a lot!

    Tiffany – your are SO right about the stuff that doesn’t get finished, like laundry and housekeeping. But a book? that’s doable. Onward!

    GT – I will finally learn to write short blog entries, too. Stay tuned!

    Thanks, Becca. I will have to be careful about getting swept up in stats (word count) yet curious about just how many words can happen in a few hours a day.

    Jeanie – oh boy, this is fun-crazy. Thanks for the encouragement!
    And you, too, Anno! I just spent all day in a class about bookmaking – printing, binding, etc. Talk about inspiration!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading WOW … aka write on wednesday … nanowrimo at This Writing Life ....

meta

