nano day 2 …

November 2, 2008 § 5 Comments

I spent yesterday at a class on bookmaking – printing, binding, etc at the Missouri Botanical Garden. I know, I know – I was supposed to be “nano-ing” all day but I signed up for this class long before I decided to write a novel in November.

Sigh.

The class however was nothing less than sheer inspiration. I now realize I  must not only write the book, but I really want to print and publish it myself. Well, maybe not the novel, but some little book. By hand. Not through some vanity press.

It’s good to keep adding to the list of goals, right?

(This picture was taken in the Rare Books Room at the garden’s library. It is a magnificent room, likely to make a booklover swoon. I’ll post more pictures from yesterday’s class throughout November. They are a suitable match in many ways with the writing effort!)And now, back to the nano files!

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to nano day 2 …

  • anno says:

    I’m so glad you’re taking this class (although I’d be happy to see you up here at Hollander’s, too!). Form often inspires content… and like you, if I ever publish, I think I’d make my own.

  • Jeanie says:

    How cool is THAT! I’d love to take a bookbinding class. That’s one thing I’ve never done. Those rich, creamy papers… knowing how special it would be! I think if you come up to Michigan, you, Anno and I should get together at Hollander’s (close to her; about an hour from me). How fun! And I’m also glad you gave yourself permission to take and enjoy — despite NaNo!

  • Oh I am so jealous! I took a book binding class at uni and loved it so much. I was looking through some of the boks I stitched the other day and couldn’t remember how I made them?

  • laylou says:

    Um, so is there a way to get into this library? Would like to take TDH/surprise him for Christmas.

  • oh says:

    Anno and Jeanie – sounds like a “Hollander workshop” is mutually in order. I did save that link after you had both referred to it in prior blogs. And I’ve never been to Michigan. Roadtrip next summer?

    Dear STree: Isn’t it funny how bookbinding makes so much sense when you’re learning it and doing it and then you walk away and weeks, or ages, later you wonder – how did that go?

    Laylou – the library does not advertise or market, but yes, the public can go. Must call ahead. Very secure. You get checked in and you can’t get out without a staffmember to unlock the doors, etc. And you have to wash your hands before you go into the library areas! It helps to be a member so I gladly offer you the family membership card for you and TDH.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nano day 2 … at This Writing Life ....

meta

