Nano 4 … VOTE … you can nano later

November 4, 2008 § 5 Comments

vote

It’s true. I could have been nano-ing. I was up at 5 a.m. 

But I showered and dressed for work and was in line at the polls at 5:45 this morning. (I was compelled to go early; I know myself. I would never have sat still at work all day, waiting to vote at 6. Sometimes, my work streams past the usual quitting time. I’d be a wreck. Trust me.)

So, I was the 125th person, or so. I had my cup of coffee in one hand, handbag on my shoulder and the newest version of Poets & Writers to read. I finished the coffee by the time I was about 30th in line. I did NOT finish the magazine.

Funny … I did not see ONE person I know. I have lived here for 15 years. (Assumption: my friends don’t get up early.)
Overheard: “I hate horses.” Spoken by the guy behind me who had to care for 40 of them at some point in his life. Stable boy? Horse lover? Family ranch? Dunno. (Assumption; I believe he was kicked by a horse somewhere along the line. More than once.)
Decision #1: I would go straight home after voting to change. I could not stand the outfit I had chosen. (Assumption: What looks OK in the semi-dark does not necessarily look good in the light of day.)
Sticker: Did I want an “I voted” sticker? Yes, sure, thanks, and I stuck it on my jacket. (Assumption: It was the kid in me who said “yes.” Everyone who knows me knows I’d vote. I don’t need a sticker so will not transfer the sticker to my blouse when I change. [see Decision #1, above.])
Decision #2: My purse is way too big, too heavy. I am changing that, too. If I can. The one I have is big enough to hold everything I might need for a weekend trip. (Assumption: I should GO on a weekend trip!)

Cheers.
PS Planning to nano during lunch … wonder how many words can be conjured then? I am nearly on track for 2000 a day.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Nano 4 … VOTE … you can nano later

  • Jeanie says:

    Good voting! I did it before work and was 124 — made it through about 20 pages in a book. You can’t knit in line. I took the sticker too. It IS a kid thing. Interesting observation about the purse. That’s right on!

  • oh says:

    Will save my sticker. In a journal, maybe? BTW, Jeanie, the “smaller” purse idea is just NOT working out. I mean, where are you gonna put your magazines, camera, etc., in some little fashion thing only big enough to hold a penny?

  • qugrainne says:

    I was 127 – great minds get up at the same time in the morning! I didn’t have coffee or anything to read and my feet were killing me after standing an hour and fifteen minutes.
    It still felt good! I had the sticker on but had to take if off after the first student I came across insisted on knowing who I voted for and I had better tell him, or else!
    And, “I am nearly on track for 2000 a day.” grrrrrrr I am so jealous and so off track.

  • qugrainne says:

    I heard you can trade the sticker for a Krispie Kreme….

  • oh says:

    Q – I just went “off track!” Drat. Hope to regain footing tomorrow … Did you get a free cup of Starbucks coffee?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nano 4 … VOTE … you can nano later at This Writing Life ....

meta

