nanowrimo tip ..do not surrender to procrastination …

November 9, 2008 § 9 Comments

Nano tip #4: Avoid procrastination. It feeds on itself. 
Example 1:  When it’s 4:45, I will return to my writing. Oops, it’s 4:47. OK, now I have to wait ’til 5:00. Oops, how did it get to be 5:07? Now I have to wait ’til 5:10.

Example 2: I’ll read one blog. Just one. But wait – I have to comment on it. Oh, look at that! Now I have to comment on someone else’s comment. And wouldn’t you know? That reminds me of a blog entry I would like to write. It won’t take long. (Only 20 minutes!)

Example 3: Purposely looking for something else that needs doing. Like posting a (new) favorite picture. Like the following …

It is titled “Unconditional Surrender.”

dsc_05601

How romantic is this?

dsc_05611 

And just one more so you can get a sense of scale …
dsc_0558

(photos taken in Sarasota, FL)

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to nanowrimo tip ..do not surrender to procrastination …

  • anno says:

    Wow! Breathtakingly romantic!

    Are you taking a vacation to support your NaNo project? Or is all this sunshine and these ocean photos from a previous visit?

  • laylou says:

    Christmas hint: I would LOVE this picture, framed. 5×7 or 8×10. Seriously.

  • oh says:

    Anno – yes, I was there. Several days of quiet and hubbub, both. So these are new photos. But will return to my “libary” photos for the rest of the month since we’re back home and at our respective desks.

    Laylou – hmmmm…Xmas present, eh? I’ll let Santa know!

  • Lisa says:

    Love your Florida pictures! Love you’re way of procrastinating, too. I admire anyone doing NaNoWriMo. Go, girl!

  • qugrainne says:

    I am falling further and further behind…..

  • oh says:

    Hi, Lisa, ah yes, the big “P” (for procrastination) and suddenly, I have other deadlines popping up on my screen – what the heck?

    Q- me, too. I’m falling behind but it’s OK. You know that in one or two evenings, we can “catch up” should we wish to do so. And, it’s all in fun. Yes, I will keep repeating that to myself. Onward.

  • Bella Rum says:

    Procrastination is evil. Let’s just say that right now. I wish I had participated in NaNoWriMo. Maybe next year.

  • Jeanie says:

    Oh, my! Just know I am so inspired by you! And the images here are gorgeous.

    One key tapping, huh?!

  • oh says:

    Bella – the big “P” is actually hilarious. I have found that by writing very very very early in the morning, I do far less procrastinating.

    Jeanie- glad you like the photos! It saves writing blogs so I can .. you know …um … write more on “the book.” phew. It takes a lot of words to make a book!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nanowrimo tip ..do not surrender to procrastination … at This Writing Life ....

meta

