nano me this …

November 11, 2008 § 3 Comments

dscn49371(photo taken at Missouri Botanical Garden Library. The cover is of a 17th century marbled Italianate paper.)

How many words does it take to make a novel?
Good news for nano-ers – apparently 50,000 words is good for a first novel though having checked several veritable sites, 60,000 is more an average.

Maybe today’s books are like today’s movies. Edit about 15-30 minutes off that blockbuster 2.75 hour movie (like PIRATES, W, etc) and you’ve got a winner. Could the same be said in favor of shaving a few thousand words off the novel’s length?

Ah, but that depends on the novel, doesn’t it? There are some in which we would “stay” as long as the book went on. (Nope, can’t think of an example at the moment, but I’m sure there are many.)

Back to the story that has nearly gone completely out of control. What? Are you saying we really should plan before touching fingers to keyboard in this completely mental race to finish a book in 30 days?
OMG, and someone told me the other day that there are 31 days in November. If only!!!!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to nano me this …

  • anno says:

    Caught in the turbulence of an out of control story sounds like the an excellent place to be this second week of nano. Ride those gale-force winds and write!

    But it is true. Only 30 days hath November. Why they picked a month that has only 30 days AND Thanksgiving in it is beyond me. July or August would seem much more reasonable months for such an effort.

  • shoreacres says:

    “Nano me this” is one of the best titles I’ve come across in some time – kudos for that multi-layered pun. And my golly – I’d forgotten about you NaNo writers having to deal with Thanksgiving, too. I’m with anno – time to find another month!

    The one novel I would have stayed in forever actually is that series of books Lawrence Durrell put together – The Alexandria Quartet. I’ve often wished it was the Alexandria Octet. I would read, and read, and…

    Glad to see that “almost” attached to “out of control”. Me, I’m finishing up a (gasp!) poem to post!

  • oh says:

    Anno – Is there music or only the sound of keys tapping? Oh yeah – they should do this “competition” in August.

    Linda – your entry on nano was beautifully done. I left my rogue comment. It’s strange I join things and then always try to do them my way. It’s a writer thing, I guess. And huge thanks for mention o fhte Alexandra Quartet. I don’t know it but will surely add it to my list. Hope Santa is in the mood to hit the bookstores this year!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nano me this … at This Writing Life ....

meta

