nano … no, W.o.W. …

November 12, 2008 § 6 Comments

writeonwednesday

Becca asks her fellow writers for this week’s Write on Wednesday (W.O.W): 
Do you do writing exercises or warm ups? 
Do you think they could be valuable? 
Have you found warm up exercises helpful in some other area of your life, e.g. art, music, athletics?  

(The only reason I won’t do Becca’s extra credit is cuz I will be nano-ing …)

Warm ups? Yes.
In writing: For me, it’s all about the blog thing to warm up my writing. To remind myself a tad about editing. To experiment with stream of consciousness. To exercise the photo-instead-of-words thing. To even get some feedback from some of the best. My early a.m. writing exercise, that I look forward to like I never have with “going to the gym” is all about tap tap tapping away here at the keyboard ’til my fingers are connected to the brain and I can write and fly at the same time.
At work: I reach my technical writing/editing desk all primed and ready.
In life: I am pathetic about stretching, aerobicizing and running. I am, however, very good about breathing exercises.

Yes, I’m a believer in exercise. Exercise your rights, your freedom, your brain, your dogs, your horse, your writing, your kids (yes, snatch them away from that TV),your piano playing, your pets that I didn’t already mention, your voice, your math abilities, your cooking talents, your spiritualism, your body, and your self.
Exercise moves you forward.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 6 Responses to nano … no, W.o.W. …

  • anno says:

    Glad to hear you’re keeping up with the breathing. Exercise does keep us moving forward… I hope that’s what NaNo is doing for you.

  • Becca says:

    I only wish I were as good about physical exercise as I am about writing exercise! My pants would fit a lot better LOL.

    Glad you’re still going strong with NaNo…any sneak peeks available??

  • shoreacres says:

    And choices! Exercise choices! Remember when you mentioned freedom in regard to writing a couple of weeks ago? Look at what I bumped into in Dillard’s “The Writing Life” ~

    “Putting a book together is interesting and exhilarating. It is sufficiently difficult and complex that it engages all your intelligence. It is life at its most free. Your freedom as a writer is not freedom of expression in the sense of wild blurting; you may not let rip. It is life at is most free…because you select your materials, invent your task, and pace yourself.”

    Yup.

  • Blogging indeed is a great warm up. It really helps me!

    warming up to you and lot more…

  • oh says:

    Anno – I really do have to stretch more, in so many directions!
    Becca – speaking of pants fitting (and mine nearly don’t) I have no idea what to wear to work today. As for nanowriting, I haven’t looked back – not sure if there’s anything but this weekend will check it over.

    Linda – what wonderful piece from Ms Dillard you have included. I so “get it.” Yes, that’s the freedom I was talking about.

    Hi, GT – what a wonderful crazy blogging bunch we are, eh?

  • Jeanie says:

    Oh, I just loved this:

    Yes, I’m a believer in exercise. Exercise your rights, your freedom, your brain, your dogs…

    I just wish I was a wee bit better at implementing it all!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading nano … no, W.o.W. … at This Writing Life ....

meta

