write on wednesday, first wed in December

December 3, 2008 § 5 Comments

writeonwednesday: Do you find that physical activity inspires your creativity?  What’s works best for you – walking, running, dancing, kickboxing?  How do you get in touch with your body, and use that awareness to inform your writing?  How do you keep your body and mind in balance? 

Becca, leading W.O.W. , offers this week’s prompt

Movement as inspiration?
Yes. Even leaving the desk, walking to the kitchen or outside to fill the birdfeeders can clear the clutter. It’s like a healthy “pause” button in the writing game. Surely I don’t do enough of it until suddenly I realize I need a walk outdoors to get air, to really breathe. Resistant phrases tumble into place. To avoid running back to the keyboard, I carry a Moleskine when I’m out walking. (and it makes me “feel” writerly.)
I can only imagine what kickboxing would do for me. It might change my writing all together.

Yes, it’s walking. Striding, really. I love to stride.

In touch with my body and use it to inform my writing?
Hmmm … I think that might actually have more to do with what I choose to wear than with my stretching and walking. Fashion pops up in my fiction (and non-fiction) partly because it’s an immediate visual, it often tells something of the person – not how much they spend, no. It’s about how they put things together, how they allow the world or want the world to see them.

the body and mind in balance … ah, aha!
I don’t know. I’d have to say that writing and walking are two of the things that keep me in balance overall. Go too long without one or the other, and I’m a bit of a scowl.

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to write on wednesday, first wed in December

  • Becca says:

    I hadn’t even thought about the concept of fashion as inspiration! I must be getting old 🙂

    Walking (and striding!) are great energizers!

  • I’m so glad you stopped by, because now I found your blog. I love reading about other writers and their writing process, etc.

    I find that a good workout in the morning will mean a better writing morning.

    And congrats on Nano! I had little time this November, so I’m joining some folks for a January Nano.

  • I love walking too and yes just a quick wander rounf the house can energise! I agree entirely with your point about fashion…

  • oh says:

    Becca – oh you made me laugh in the best way – me and fashion are kind of a joke around here. I love it but daughter always suggests I dress like I do. And I look at my jeans and sweaters and shrug.

    Jen, a2eatwrite – I think if we write a book about writing, we’ll do well. We writes love to read about writing and other writers, don’t we?

    HI, Crafty – now that I have finished writing one or two pieces, I’m going to go have a look at my own closet. I think it’s time for a makeover.

  • Jeanie says:

    Interesting. I don’t know if I’ll be able to catch up on this week’s WOW, but I’m loving reading the others!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading write on wednesday, first wed in December at This Writing Life ....

meta

