Holiday Books … just because

December 12, 2008 § 4 Comments

For the fun of it, thought I might share or suggest a few holiday books in the next week or two. Sure, we’ve seen plenty of them, but there is likely some particular reason certain ones keep showing up in the Christmas stack, likely even the read-aloud pile, throughout the holiday season.
Read on.nightb4xmas1

THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS – Hallmark edition (can you believe it?)

It’s  a book with a split cover that opens when not tied with its ribbon, and the pages are loaded with pop ups (tons of interest) and the good olde rhyme.

Do you know it all by heart? Yes, if you have the book and pictures as  a prompt. But without them can you recite it all? Just ask our Snarl.

The book is one of his holiday faves, as told to me in one of those 20-year-old confessions you get when the blush of being home after semesters of noise, study and student food renders him conversational and he shares one line of confidence, “I love that book – it’s my favorite Christmas book.”

So you don’t ask him why. You just treasure that he said it and you take awfully good care of that book and make sure it’s out on the coffee table or the armchair near the Xmas tree.

 Anyway, the story may not be compelling but there’s huge comfort in “me in my cap” and “laying his finger aside of his nose” – this is the stuff of tradition and merriment and some magic.

Not holy, but celebratory and traditional. And so, in that sense, yes, holy.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Holiday Books … just because

  • laylou says:

    I was unaware my brother could recite the book!

    My favorites:
    * Frost the Snowman
    * A Christmas Carol, though just realized we never read it anymore =(
    * The book Aunt Rita personalized for me
    * Charlie Brown Christmas

    I may pick up the David Sedaris book now as well 🙂

  • jeanie says:

    Pop-ups! Oh, I love pop-ups! I made Rick a pop-up once (using photographs — sort of a year book, with my poetry about things in our year.) It nearly killed me. Those aren’t easy — so I “get” why they cost so darned much!

    I decorate with children’s Christmas books (they cover up all the clutter in the shelves!) It’s fun to revisit them every year!

  • oh says:

    Laylou – We’ll be reading The Christmas Carol aloud. Feel free to drop in any time. You don’t have to hear from the beginning – you can probably hear a few words and ID wherever we might be in the story – you know that one so well!

    Jeanie – You made a pop-up book? Very clever idea doing a year book of photos AND poems! I’ll bet Rick treasures it.

  • qugrainne says:

    I get out all of the childrens’ holiday books and scatter them at the beginning of December. It is interesting to see which ones they pick up. Often not the one I would pick up. The memories that spill out of them then are such treasures, and I think to myself, “Well, you did something right!”

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holiday Books … just because at This Writing Life ....

meta

