Holiday moon …

December 12, 2008 § 5 Comments

fullmoon
There must be a name for this full moon on the 12 day of Advent. I could see every twig, every leaf, every tree root on my way to the mailbox from the front porch. Such glorious light at holiday time seems akin to the Star. You gotta smile, even if you just had to clean up after your aging beagle, start some laundry, quickly set the table for two and hope HM was serious when he said French onion soup and grilled cheese would be great for dinner at the end of a long bumptious week.

You gotta smile.
‘Tis the Season.

(but is there a special name for this fat gorgeous moon, full and beaming, on Dec 12?)
fullmoonxmas

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Holiday moon …

  • Bobbi says:

    The moon was absolutely beautiful last night! Many bloggers have called it the Gemini Moon, but I don’t know it that’s correct.

  • oh says:

    Bobbi,
    I like your name best.
    I looked it up (quickly) and according to both the Farmers Almanac and NASA, the full moon in December is called the Cold Moon. Suitable, I guess.
    Something a bit more holiday-ish would be better, though – like, Jolly Olde Moon.

  • shoreacres says:

    And this was a special moon – a Perigee moon, as close to the earth as a moon can be in its elliptical orbit. Astronomers and photographers around the world were giving this one special attention – as did you!

    At perigee, the moon appears much larger not only because of the “moon illusion” at the horizon, but also because it is closer. And of course, tides are higher and lower than normal, which may or may not have contributed to the grounding of that ferry in Maryland!

    • oh says:

      Thanks, Linda! Science is so often cooler than fiction, because it’s “odd” AND it’s true. Honestly, the moon was startling. I love it when I think/imagine/pretend that I can see as well as a nocturnal animal.

  • jeanie says:

    How beautiful — I wish I’d seen that. I think an Advent Moon. Yes, that works for me.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Holiday moon … at This Writing Life ....

meta

