When you can’t write …

January 2, 2009 § 7 Comments

When you can’t write, do something else you love, like taking 61 pictures of a horse standing in the pasture. Then make up a conversation with the horse.

dsc_0687

 

 

 

 

 

 
Horse: Like my winter coat?
Me: It’s beautiful. I hope you’re warm enough.

dsc_0680

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Horse: Are you going to put my picture on a calendar or something? This is a good pose, if you are.
Me: No, I’m not going to do that.
Horse: Then why are you taking my picture?
Me: Because I love horses.
Horse: Do you own one?
Me: No.
Horse: Why not?
Me: Because I own a car.
Horse: (shakes his head) I don’t get it.
Me: Oh, well.

dsc_0636

 

 

 

 

 

 
Horse: Can I have that carrot?
Me: What carrot?
Horse: The one sticking out of your pocket. I see it. I see orange, I think “carrot.” I see blond hair, I think “straw.” So, how ’bout it? Can I have it?
Me: (handing over the carrot, piece by piece, after breaking it first.

dsc_0657

 

 

 

 

 

 
Horse: Thanks. That was excellent.
Me: You’re welcome.
Horse: So, you’re not afraid of me or anything? You know, there’s a warning sign on the fence over there, saying I might bite or something.
Me: No, I’m not afraid.
Horse: Some of the kids are. They’re afraid. I wouldn’t bite them, either, though.
Me: I know. (I reach up and rub him between his ears.)

dsc_0633

 

 

 

 

 

 

Me: We all like a pat on the head now and then, right?
Horse: Love it.

dsc_0619

 

 

 

 

 

 
Horse: Hey, where are you going?
Me: To get more carrots.
Horse: No, really. Where ya’ going?
Me: To feed my own family. I’ll be back.
Horse: Yeah? Really? How do I know that?
Me: Cuz I love you, Horse.

dsc_0649

 

 

 

 

 

 
Horse: OK, this is me, waiting. See? I’m very good at waiting.
Me: (running back to give him another rub on his neck) Next time, carrots and a peppermint!
Horse: Excellent. Happy New Year!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to When you can’t write …

  • ceylanthewriter says:

    That is adorable! I love the pictures and the story!

    Ceylan

  • anno says:

    Y’know, I think you might really need a horse… wonderful post!

  • laylou says:

    Love it, Darling!
    Great pictures.
    Sorry I didn’t look at them earlier this week.

  • oh says:

    Thanks, Cylanthewriter! Hope you get this; there’s no link for me to follow.

    Anno – I’m wondering the same, about needing a horse, and have alerted husband in that regard.

    Laylou – Come along next time! Great photo ops and there’s a coffee cafe not far from there, for conversation and reviewing the photos we snap!

  • jeanie says:

    Where do I begin! OK, this comment batch will include the posts above and below, from your writing musings (brilliant and perfectly stated) up to ripping out pages, because I’m on dial-up and it’s harder to call up every individual post from here. BUT…

    I picked this one because it simply made me smile. I loved the wit, the photos, the story — a writer and her four-legged friend! Do you need a horse, as Anno said? I think that might be a possibility!

    The writing comments — right on target. As always, eloquently stated. And the books look great. (You’ll love the Charles Dickens adaptations coming to Masterpiece this winter! Especially Snobs — I need to look for that.

    Finally, it’s because of all these posts and what you have written since I discovered your blog that I’m handing you the Marie Antoinette award for Inspirational blogs! Visit the Gypsy for more! Happy ripping and tearing!

  • oh says:

    Jeanie – Thanks! oh my, an award to link to 7 others – yikes (a tech-y challenge for me). Glad you enjoyed the horse story. We might need a house in the countryside! ANd I will keep my eye on Masterpiece Theatre – somewhere around here is a Channel 9 guide – thanks for the tip!

  • Bree says:

    Too funny! I do the same thing with with pets. Hold complete conversations with them or make up words for their thoughts. I wish I had the patience to write a story about it because it cracks me up.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading When you can’t write … at This Writing Life ....

meta

