Stirring and stewing … and I’m not talking about food …

January 3, 2009 § 6 Comments

I should be reading and writing.
Should. should. should.
I am not interested in “shoulds” today.
Tralala.

It’s the last few days of vacay before the corporate structure (though let’s be honest; schedule and creativity and socialability in the work place are positives, too.)

I will finish writing a review for KROC so it’s on her desk Monday morning.
And, I have this awesome stack of magazines to go through, including VOGUE, Poets & Writers and several New Yorkers.

poetswritersmag

And then …

snobs

I have SNOBS, a novel by the same guy who wrote Gosford Park. (did you see that movie? egads, I loved it.) And so, look forward to the book which I found (and here I shiver) on the Remainder Shelf at Barnes and Noble.

And I have Nicholas Nickleby which was impossible to finish in December though I am well underway and adore it. I can’t help it. I’m a sap for Dickens. But also, for Hemingway. And Franzen. And Faulkner. And plenty of other contradictory writing styles. Go figure.

nickleby

And I want to get my hands on some chick lit. Today.
Can’t help it. Need some NYC/publishing nilth. (Nilth means, herein, neither harmful nor gainful nor anything really.)

And, I’ve just met with Margaret Pundmann, author of The Emerging Woman which Linda and I helped her with in terms of editing and direction. And am now toting a signed copy which aesthetically looks good. Will have to read it (again!)

margaret

And, there is purpose in the leather-bound journal (not pictured and can’t find my camera)  that Snarl gave me that so easily fits into my purse. I am now on Day 3 of tossing off a poem (or prose, written in poetry form) in there. An idea from dear friend Fritz who was in my writing group for 8 years. She is very talented, also by the nature of what she puts together: her art work with her own words.

Let’s see how many of the above are underway, stacked, piled, open, written on, discussed, read aloud and in the living rooms for easy access by late tonight!

TBC …

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Stirring and stewing … and I’m not talking about food …

  • anno says:

    How lovely, to start the new year with so many wonderful books and projects to play with… I’m looking forward to the next installment.

  • oh says:

    Anno – I got throught the magazines last night (having given self permission to not read every word) and ended up saving the Poets&WRiters which I hadn’t even touched yet. Also read a bit of SNOBS. Put Margaret on the shelf since I know her and chat with her from time to time. Which leaves … Nicholas. Poor fellow, freezing in wintry England – I must catch up with him tonight.

  • laylou says:

    I shall have to check out the new book you edited. I must admit the cover appeals.

    You can borrow City Dog if you wish! It’s NYC. It’s about publishing. It’s kind of nilth. But an easy read and shall accomplish what you want 🙂

  • jeanie says:

    The Emerging Woman — yesterday I was at the library for an art opening reception and saw this. I stopped in my tracks — looking for your name. There wasn’t a Diana I knew, but a Diana with a last name beginning with “B” — is that you?!

  • oh says:

    Actually, in the thank you’s or acknowledgments at the back of the EMERGING WOMAN by Pundmann there is a page of the people she thanks. My name (Diana Losciale) is there with my team mate on these editing projects, Linda Jarrett.

  • jeanie says:

    Well GOOD, because you deserve thanking! It looks like a good book — I’ll take a longer look when I can handle reading again! I love it when I know people in the acknowledgments!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stirring and stewing … and I’m not talking about food … at This Writing Life ....

meta

