thoughts after meeting a writing deadline …

January 6, 2009 § 11 Comments

I’m a paper junkie.
I know. That’s not funny.
But I get high in bookstores.
I swoon in Archivers.
I get dizzy in the “scrap” section at Michaels.
And then there’s ArtMart and RedLead and Dick Glicks, all art and paper stores in St. Louis.

I have to be on a tether when I’m in the City library.
Heaven forbid I wander into the NYC Public Library alone. I’d forget to eat or drink or answer my cell phone  ’til I was rescued (likely from the reader’s room on the second floor.) 

I even have to restrain myself at Frontenac’s Crane Stationery store, a very proper place, rather tiny and packed with all the designs and dribbles of things that women yesterday and today used and use to write upon. All the linen papers. All the raggedy edges. All the faint blues and cream whites and pale yellow papers.
And all the catalogs that go along with choosing anything custom to be ordered.
Even the Kate Spade pencil cases call to me.

I wanted to include some super fine pictures of paper here, to offer a whiff of the paper addiction, a glimpse into the life of a paper-o-phile.

But so many of you  have it, too.
You understand.

It’s difficult to capture the essence of a gorgeous paper on camera. It’s a tactile sensory thing but here are a few.

handmade_india

 

handmade paper from India

handmade_tissue

handmade tissue

handpainted_thailand

handpainted paper

handmade_nepal

handmade in Nepal

Nearly giddy with the relief of having just handed in a manuscript to a magazine, I’m thinking about the piles of paper that are socked away on the shelves in my “office” upstairs.  Yup, I’m going there now, ostensibly to clean.

If one of my old Somerset Studio magazines is up there, I’m “sunk.”

somerset31

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 11 Responses to thoughts after meeting a writing deadline …

  • laylou says:

    it’s official.
    We need a scrap night.
    Miss you!

  • oh says:

    Laylou – Let me know the best (friday?) night for you.

  • anno says:

    Gorgeous stuffs! Do you have plans for it, or do you do like I do, and just pin swatches of the stuff on a bulletin board and hope for an idea to occur to you?

  • jeanie says:

    This post is so me. So me!!! Send on your address via e-mail — I’m not sure I still have it! I’ll send you a lovely sample of papers! I have rather a good bit of overstock! Then we can swoon in tandem!

  • yolanda says:

    I too have this illness it seems.

  • Bree says:

    Love paper. I’m addicted to notebooks and most of the time I don’t even write in them. I try to limit myself to the dollar store pretty or unusual notebooks. Scrapbook paper love to buy it. You never know when you may just need that paper with popcorn printed on it. Ya know.

  • qugrainne says:

    Count me in on the addiction. Paper, notebooks, and also pens and pencils!!
    And isn’t that giddy feeling of completing a deadline, and seeing free time stretching out in front of you to infinity (seemingly) wonderful!!??
    I hope you have a wonderful time in your paper closet 🙂

  • Becca says:

    Oh yes, I love all those gorgeous papers in the scrap book stores. I have no idea what to do with them, but I covet them nonetheless.

    I’m looking for some really nice writing paper to use with the new fountain pen I got for Christmas. I’m feeling like writing some letters 🙂

  • oh says:

    Anno – You are right! I often pin it to the wall, sometimes tagging it as “art” while the family sorta smiles until I get going on a project …

    Thanks, Jeanie! I sent it. Ah, this paper fun!

    Hi, Yolanda – Guess the “paper bug” isn’t so bad, though, is it?

    Bree – you’re a paper pro – popcorn printed? sounds fun. I have one with teeny little dog paws all over it – it’s so cute, haven’t used it yet.

    Q – Yes! Yes! Post-writing is some of the best “part” of it (I believe Dorothy Parker said, only waay better than I just did.) And it’s fun in this paper closet. Wouldn’t mind taking a day off, you know, just to tinker with some stuff …?

    Becca – It is so true; you see these glorious papers and you’re not sure what they will become, if anything, but you. have. to. have. one. sheet.

  • Linda Jacobs says:

    I love the way your wrote this! It begins innocently enough with short lines but as you warm up to the idea of paper, your lines get longer and longer like your passion!

    And paper is in my blood, too! In fact I even live in a paper mill town nicknamed The City That Trees Built. No only that, but my husband is a logger!

    Love Somerset publications, too!

  • oh says:

    Linda – How cool is that you are in a “woodsy” town! My first teaching job was in Jackman, Maine. Also a logging town. You could smell the wood in the air. It’s a funny connection between writers and paper, don’t you think? Even though we have PCs. Paper still has a siren call.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading thoughts after meeting a writing deadline … at This Writing Life ....

meta

