Sunday Scribblings … #145 Organic …

January 10, 2009 § 6 Comments

If you read an old definition of ‘organic’ it seems to have very little to do with how we use the word today. What is your take on ‘organic?’

ORGANIC THEN …
The Whole Earth Catalog, the first one with its black cover and a picture of the planet earth on it.

The muslim tops I used to wear

A friend’s house she built herself. It was one room. She had a woodstove and a  huuuuge bunk. She had windowsand raw wood shelves.  She peed outdoors. She got up early, season regardless, and made tea and had bread which she baked (yuck, it was awful) and then she walked to work from the top of the mountain to the bakery at the bottom.

Tea. Bags and boxes of tea. All kinds. We took time to brew it and discuss philosophy and where we would travel next as we sat there, feet up on the old coffee table and the cups in our hands, warming them.

A food store in Cooperstown.  It was  a co-op. Half the stuff didn’t seem to apply to our lifestyle but we liked the way it smelled and we bought  whole wheat flour there. Whole wheat flour wasn’t going to be in the typical grocery stores for another five years.

Peanut butter. So stiff you could barely spread it. It tasted real.

Even music was organic:  Taj Mahal, Earl and Scruggs, Pete Seeger, Buffy Ste Marie, John Mayall, Jethro Tull …

ORGANIC NOW …
Snarl’s wallet ( made of comic book paper – it’s literally a piece of art)

My sea glass earrings

Our kitchen, recently redecorated using low VOC paint, it has mostly organic food stuffed into the fridge and pantry

Our dogs’ lifestyle.

Furniture, flooring, bedding and clothing. There’s an organic umbrella covering many things and yeah, it gets mixed in with “green” and “natural” and it’s all good.

Christmas trees and handmade wreaths.

Cleaning solutions, like Method (TM)  products.

The garden ( the soil, the no-pesticide evolution).

Organic. It used to be a word that took the listener down a different path.
Now it’s easily internalized and understood to the point where it has lost, perhaps, its inherent meaning.

Taking organic at its “natural living” definition, it also applies  to print and media and  …. blogs.

Blogs are organic by their very nature – straight from mouth/brain to paper/keyboard – no editor, no proof reader.  Organic writing, like organic anything, implies a great deal of responsibility and care regarding the final product.

Organic? Hmmm.. now there’s something old that’s new.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Sunday Scribblings … #145 Organic …

  • anno says:

    I love your organic list, especially your point about blogs being organic. I find there’s something about blogging relationships that’s organic as well: I’m frequently inspired by other’s ideas, constantly encouraged because of someone’s link, to explore a little further than I might have otherwise gone.

  • nova says:

    I like thinking of blogs as organic… it does feel that way, doesn’t it?

  • jeanie says:

    Am I missing “Organic” day or Earth Week (no, that’s in April…). A lot of people are posting about organic or organic-related topics and I’m enjoying it tremendously.

    My feelings resonate most with yours. When I think organic, I tend to more often think of non-food things (except when Greg’s around with a big grocery bill and a mission to convert the world!). Like you, I think of music. Making paper is organic to me. It’s from the “roots up.” Knitting is organic. The whole process of fiber is organic — from how it gets to your fingers to the finished piece. Cotton is organic. And the tea you mentioned so inspired me to heat water (it should be waiting for me when I finish this comment!) so I can enjoy a cuppa and warm up on this frigid, snowy morning!

    But what I did like best was your idea of the blog being organic. I’ve always felt writing is; but what I love is the incongruity of the cold, technology providing the opportunity for something so warm and organic. That works for me!

    Have a lovely Sunday!

  • floreta says:

    oh, i like that blogs are organic! i had never thought of that.

  • shoreacres says:

    “Organic writing, like organic anything, implies a great deal of responsibility and care regarding the final product.”

    Absolute agreement with that, and a whimsical thought:

    Organic writing = no additives (BlogThing quizes, polls on irrelevant topics), no chemicals (what’s more toxic than lolkatz language n ur blog?) and no gratuitous use of pesticides (naked ladies with accompanying disclaimers – sure to kill every thought in a quarter-mile radius).

    Time to start composting experience and pouring over the word catalogues – spring’s a-comin’!

  • laylou says:

    ooo! good blog.

    Well, as you now my laundry is now more organic than before thanks to the dryer balls you gave me.

    I shop at Trader Joe’s as much as possible for organic food.

    I probably shouldn’t do this but more often than not I don’t always pick up Jack’s poop because if I do the bag I toss it in isn’t recyclable and his poop? Yeah, it decomposes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sunday Scribblings … #145 Organic … at This Writing Life ....

meta

