Inauguration … time out for a personal jag

January 21, 2009 § 8 Comments

obama

I  missed seeing the inauguration live yesterday, during “real time.”
I tried to get it online at work, just for a moment, just to “be there.”

Nevertheless, work was the order of the day and people were in and out of my office, a spontaneous meeting went long, and in the hemidemisemiquaver of a moment when I could have seen it a bit of the event, the site was blocked (there’s some lockdown on the Internet where I work.)
Dammit.
And then I was at work ’til 7 p.m. and there was the danger of it feeling like just any old day, which it clearly was not.

I went home with a vague sense of unrequited desire to celebrate.
HM was dishing up pizza in the living room, had the coffee table set, and a few candles lit.
I ran upstairs first and changed into my sweats and my Obama tee shirt.

Then seated on the couch, we ate and watched the Neighborhood Ball and replays of the inauguration and even some of my favorite stuff –  commentary and pictures about the new First Lady’s sense of style and fashion.

And when the President and First Lady danced to Beyonce singing “At Last”, I cried.
Couldn’t help it.
It was the good kind of tears.

It was because we still have courage and confidence. Not just some, but hundreds and hundreds of thousands of  voters  – indeed, the country.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Inauguration … time out for a personal jag

  • laylou says:

    That was quite a dance, wasn’t it? And Michelle’s dress? Pretty awesome.

    It’s an exciting time to be in America 🙂

  • yolanda says:

    I was able to see snippets of it at work too.

  • Carrie says:

    i totally cried during beyonce’s song too. it was so lovely.

  • qugrainne says:

    His first day in office and already his attitude is shining through! I was lucky – able to watch a tv in a classroom. After President Obama was done repeating his oath, one little guy stood up, let out a big sigh, and said, “Oh, well I’m glad that’s over with.” I felt the same way: it was real and not just a dream!

    I’m sorry to say I didn’t like the gold dress, but the girls sure were cute.

  • oh says:

    Laylou – I don’t remember a Pres and 1st Lady dancing on Inauguration Day before? Is this new?

    Yolanda – Lucky you! It’s nice to see something happening in real time, isn’t it?

    Carrie – Was it the song? or the event? or, what? I don’t know but will never forget it.

    Q – but how ’bout those green gloves from J Crew? And yes, isn’t it great? It’s not a dream.

  • jeanie says:

    I watched at my desk (I’m lucky to have a telly in the office) and commented back and forth on Facebook with others about it. I just felt so overwhelmed, so relieved, so full. But I especially love your own inauguration celebration at home. You have a good guy there — and I’m glad you could celebrate together!

  • floreta says:

    this was such an amazing day.

  • oh says:

    Jeanie – I’m glad you saw it and felt it, too!

    Floreta – It WAS amazing. And real, not a dream.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Inauguration … time out for a personal jag at This Writing Life ....

meta

