Decorating a writer’s home …

January 22, 2009 § 5 Comments

dscn5471

Made of hammered tin … a  nice little find on sale at Target for $4.99.
Sometimes, there’s just the right thing to hang on the wall. This one won the foyer.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Decorating a writer’s home …

  • Bree says:

    I love this sign. Must go to Target and find.

  • jeanie says:

    Fabulous sign! Great find!

  • shoreacres says:

    Love the sign.

    I posted a new entry today with an original poem, called “The Grammarian in Winter”. The last line reads, “Silent, shrouded in the pond’s same breath,
    cattle cast their spellbound gaze past perfect sweeps of snow,as if to skry spring’s synonym and punctuate the sentence of the hills.”

    While still in grade school, my parents and I were traveling across Iowa on our way to my grandparents’ home. I was in the back seat, wrapped in a red plaid stadium blanket, looking out the window. I clearly remember saying to no one in particular, “If those hills were sentences, the cattle would be the punctuation marks.”

    I’ve kept that for 50 years, just waiting. As far as I know, it was my first metaphor, and it came to me while I was wrapped in family and home. I’ve held on to it for 50 years of more, just waiting to give it a home.

    I may run by Target this weekend.

  • oh says:

    Dear All! good morning – sun at last – time on the laptop at last … I hope you find the sign. It was in a bin on an endcap at Target. Maybe there’s even something better … more later!

  • Scobberlotch says:

    Ah, very cool sign.

    No, don’t trash your NaNoWRiMo piece!!! We should still do our post mortem on our pieces. I think it would be fun. I haven’t looked at mine since the competition ended, but I’m going to crack it open again soon. Have you continued to think about the story? I’ll bet you already have new ideas for it. Anyway, let’s talk about our co-blog piece soon, okay?

    Hugs and have a great Sunday!

    Karen H.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Decorating a writer’s home … at This Writing Life ....

meta

