Orchid week … monday

February 2, 2009 § 7 Comments

dsc_0053

as though etched and painted
(photo snapped at Missouri Botanical Garden)

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Orchid week … monday

  • jeanie says:

    This is so beautiful (and big!) that I gasped when I opened it! Simply stunning.

  • laylou says:

    Is it going to talk to me? It looks like it’s going to talk to me. I like this flower. It has spunk and personality.

  • oh says:

    Jeanie – I love using this “size” picture but it may be a nightmare for others to load, I dunno. I’ve got thing about “scale” lately. All the little tiny pictures in the house are coming off the wall or are grouped into one big “picture.”

    Aha, Laylou! I’d say this one has spoken to you in a way, n’est-ce pas? Glad you like it. You usually tease me about my bird and flower pictures!

  • anno says:

    The whole series is stunning, and this one especially–great picture! Orchids are amazing. Did you know, they are so adaptable you can find species of orchids on Antarctica?

  • oh says:

    A- I didn’t know that. I feel like i’m living in Antarctica right now! (tired of the cold) I cannot imagine these fragile blooms (guess they’re not so darn fragile) poking their little heads out into zero temperatures!

  • anno says:

    Um. I checked my facts. After shooting my mouth off, naturally. Orchids are so adaptable, they are found everywhere in the world except for Antarctica.

    I’m pretty sure, though, that there’s some discussion of orchids in Diana Ackerman’s tribute to the natural world, A Natural History of the Senses, and it may have been her effusiveness about these flowers and their amazing variety, that led — all my own fault — to my error.

  • oh says:

    No worries. You got my attention on these and as I go la-la-la about my business, not evening knowing their names, I realize I need to shift gears and pay attention. As a “start”, I’m getting my hands on the ORCHID THIEF (at last) and giving it a read. Then, who knows?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Orchid week … monday at This Writing Life ....

meta

