Orchid Week … thursday

February 4, 2009 § 5 Comments

FRINGE BENEFITS

dsc_0129

dsc_01781

 

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Orchid Week … thursday

  • jeanie says:

    Oh, what fine detail on that furry little bloom! It reminds me of a party dress, whipped up in a flurry of dancing, perhaps? The ruffled edge of a cancan dancer? I’m smiling…

  • oh says:

    Love the cancan idea!

  • shoreacres says:

    This is the very best. The two lighter peach leaves on the right are precisely the color of my 6th grade graduation dress – the dress with the pintucks and matching peach shell buttons and the little cap sleeves.

    The closest I’ve been able to come to remembering the color before this flower is that ghastly orange sherbet and ginger ale punch they used to serve at “occasions”. But this is the color, and it’s wonderful.

    All of the orchids are beautiful. I’ve never had the nerve to try and grow them, though.

  • shoreacres says:

    Whoops – too many flowers! Apply my comment to the peach orchid, please!

  • oh says:

    Linda – your little dress sounds lovely – was it? especially the peach shell buttons – and your reference to that sherbert “punch” makes me laugh – oh, we had the same thing many times over in the northeast – only for some reason, ours used lime sherbert rather than peach. Oh, double UN-yum!

    PS I was only an hour from Galveston last weekend. I could fall in love with Texas. It’s always weather that gets me. In truth, whenever we travel, I fall in love with “place.” How can one not? I do hope to see your town someday. I hear nothing but good things and am sure they are true.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Orchid Week … thursday at This Writing Life ....

meta

