Texas Top 10 … after 3 days as a tourist

February 10, 2009 § 8 Comments

10 THINGS I LOVE ABOUT THE LONE STAR STATE

1.) Denim
2.) Boots
3.) y’all (and “all y’all”)
4.) the sweetness of the nearly spring air, being outdoors, being in water (swimming!) in February
5.) the clean sweep (Houston is clean.) (The wind is clean.)
6.) all the smiling going on
7.) ma’am (when a Texan says it, I do NOT feel old. Or, sassed.)
8.) the swagger (it goes with all those long lean jeans and boots)
9.) the pickup trucks (these are NOT like the kind left to rot in rural backyards))
10.) the food, the jewelry, the hair – it’s all glitzy and delicious (It’s  fun with a hard and serious edge beneath it.)

5 THINGS I DO NOT LOVE ABOUT IT

1.) those giant belt buckles
2.) the accent when it stretches like rubber throughout a sentence so you’re not sure if the speaker is still on the first word or the second or third or fourth or …
3.) the big empty spaces (cuz I don’t know what to make of them) + wind = lonely
4) the mixed zoning (Houston: powerful big city, but hey, what’s up with the bowling alley next to the residences next to the empty air hangar next to the …?  Let’s do some urban planning here, people!)
5) the big hair, the big blond hair (kinda ’80s) but damn, they pull it off effortlessly!

texasflag

Ya’ gotta admit there’s acres and acres of charm and sincerity and energy there.
I mean, really.
They also make a tourist feel at home.
Is it  like that when you actually live there?

texasmap

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Texas Top 10 … after 3 days as a tourist

  • laylou says:

    Great list.
    It is a clean city, isn’t it?
    While I’m not a huge fan of the belt buckles either, they have some ornate designs on them!

  • shoreacres says:

    As an “I got here as soon as I could” Texan who’s lived around the state for 35 of the last 40 years,
    your list is great – but to me it sounds more like it should be titled “Ten Things I love about Houston”. The slice is true, but it’s as skinny as a piece of pie at the end of a potluck.

    Here’s another ten for you, ma’am. I’ll stick to ten so I don’t blog-hog:

    1.Barbeque
    2.The “one-finger wave” on country roads
    3.”Sir”,”much obliged”, “howdy” and “if you please” to go with “ma’am”
    4. The Marfa Lights and Old Man Bailey, wandering the prairie looking for his whiskey
    5. Mesquite, to smoke meat and build furniture
    6. Armadillos, cattle, javelinas, cattle, more cattle
    7. Whooping cranes, sandhill cranes, scissortail flycatchers and the Great Coastal birding trail
    8. Interlaced, almost unknown rivers with names like Sabinal, Rio Frio, Nueces, Angelina, Sulphur, Wichita
    9. Real dancehalls and Western Swing
    10. The fact that when we say “Ya’ll come on back now, y’hear?” we really mean it!

  • shoreacres says:

    Oh – those things you don’t like…

    For Texans, big empty spaces & wind = freedom

    No zoning? For good or for ill, it’s the urban cowboy equivalent of “Don’t fence me in”.

    As for big hair… A lot of Houstonians would tell you that’s pure Dallas/Ft.Worth!

  • jeanie says:

    I’ve never been to Houston, but I’ve heard nice things about Texans! (And I have distant relatives to prove it!)

    Hope you had a lovely time! Sounds like it!

  • oh says:

    Laylou- So, you liked it there, too? I would have guessed it. It’s hard to identify what it is about the place. I think it’s in the air.

    Shore- Oh yes, I was in H, but also Dallas and dear old San Antonio. I’m thinking some time spent on a horse ranch just might be in order … !

    Jeanie- I think we just plain love to travel, yes? But Texas weather in the midst of weather is just so easy to live with, as are the people there. But I didn’t take a lot of pictures!!!

  • laylou says:

    Yes, I really did like Texas which surprised me more than you can possibly know.

    I would visit both Houston and Dallas again and yes, would even enjoy the ranch idea. Think of the tans we could obtain and the bonds with the horses. Perhaps a girl trip is in order??

  • Kim L says:

    Wow, it is a different world in Texas, isn’t it? I’ve never been there but I want to someday!

  • oh says:

    Laylou – You’re on. Let’s do San Antonio first, then Dallas! in May?

    Kim – You can’t help but like Texas, you’re right! Next time, I’ll hunt down some TX magazines, get some of the journalistic flavor, see what’s what.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Texas Top 10 … after 3 days as a tourist at This Writing Life ....

meta

