Tuesday … Clockwork White

February 24, 2009 § 9 Comments

clocks

This is a pile of clocks in my (corporate) office. We are an international company. It’s useful to keep a clock on the wall for each time zone in which we’re working.  I moved offices a few weeks ago, and box-filed during  the hodgepodge of the move, my clocks are still waiting to be tacked on the wall.

In the meantime, I find I also look less and less at my wristwatch, at time overall. I have tons of light pouring through two giant windows. When it stops pouring in, I know it’s time to go home. Or, that the weather has turned bleak.

The clock on the left shows the time in New South Wales; the middle, clock, I dunno, that is to say that I think it’s cheesey little hands got bumped in the move; and, on the right, the clock shows Central Standard Time, USA.

People still bop into my new digs to see what time it is. I point to the floor. They don’t understand. They ask what time it is in blah-blah-land.  I shrug. They say they’re lost without the white-clock-decor, and walk out.  Am I really so reckless (feckless?) that I can war through the day without these  stark little faces staring at me?  

I snapped this shot after 5 pm so that no colleagues were (c)harmed or disturbed by the making of this photo.

Book selections …

TIME AND AGAIN by Jack Finney was a gift from my Gran when I was in middle school. She figured I’d have the patience to read it. And oh, it was magic. It was better than anything of that ilk that I had read by then (Tolkien, Vern, Travers, any of them…) moreover because it was so unexpected.

The book had only a few pictures, which leant them all the more intrigue.
What’s it about? you ask.
It’s a cross-time love story.  Turn of the century thing. A guy becomes part of a university experiment  (sans cruelty or torture, TG.) You think you know all about those, about such formulaic tales, but no, stay thy impatiece.  If you haven’t read it, give it a whirl. Pictured below is the “old” version, the one with the cover I have and beneath the papery intrigues is a dark brown linen-esque cover.
timeandagainbook

And then there’s a second one: FROM TIME TO TIME. It’s on the shelf next to its quietly magnificent predecessor. It’s a soft cover, thus my unmatched set but you can buy the soft cover duo now.)  
I haven’t read this second one.
I haven’t touched it yet.
I will.
I’m saving it. I love knowing it’s there. I love knowing it will pleasantly surprise me no matter how it goes.

2ndbookfinney

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

§ 9 Responses to Tuesday … Clockwork White

  • Karen H. says:

    That is a great pic! I have a first edition of Time and Again. A great book!

    So, when should we chat about NaNoWriMo, friend?

  • lalber says:

    Wow, love this. All that time time time staring you down at work? I’d leave the clocks on the floor too!

  • Bree says:

    I love the picture. It would drive me crazy though to see all those clocks on my work wall.

  • Time and Again was one of my all-time favorite books. I read it in 6th grade, and I believe most years thereafter until my early 20s. I grew up right near where he “appeared” in the 1880s, so I was just so enamored of the whole thing.

  • jeanie says:

    I want to see this photo but I’m at home on dial-up, so will have to visit again tomorrow! But isn’t it interesting when you begin to forego the clock — yes, something will remind you of the meeting that’s a few minutes away, but the clock itself… I have most recently come to enjoy, truly bless, leaving the office (even late) and the sun is still in the sky. Low in the sky, perhaps, but there. It gives me the promise of spring, the equinox and seeing the longer days come to fruition!

    Time And Again — oh, isn’t it grand? A friend loaned it to me some years ago, and then I found the sequel. Wonderful, but there is nothing like the first book. It reminded me of a movie with Malcolm McDowell and Mary Steenburgen, with the time travel and love story, even though they were quite different. (That was “Time After Time,” I think. It’s fluffy but delightful, given that Jack the Ripper is a main character!

    Oh! Your clocks have downloaded! That’s a fabulous photo — love the monochromatic look — and all that time. Is there ever enough time? I don’t think so…

  • laylou says:

    Such a cool picture. Seriously.
    Next time someone asks you for the time, just ask them to hang up the pictures for you 🙂
    Love the stark white and randomness of the classroom.

  • oh says:

    Karen – yes, nanowrimo. let’s “chat” over the weekend.

    Lisa and Bree- you’re right! Tough to have those clockguys ticking away. Oh yes, they’re still on the floor!

    Jen – So glad you know and love the book! There’s somehting special about it. Maybe it’s time I re-read it?

    Jeanie- you are so right about “foregoing” the clock. It’s easily enough done. And I had forgotten about Time after Time. Maybe netflix…

    Laylou – hmmmm. ask someone to hang them up? not a bad idea. Or, just kick them under my desk. You would be impressed with how I have pared down in the at-work-office. Hey, also in my office at home!

  • shoreacres says:

    “In the meantime, I find I also look less and less at my wristwatch, at time overall. I have tons of light pouring through two giant windows. When it stops pouring in, I know it’s time to go home. Or, that the weather has turned bleak….”

    After five years of varnishing, the wristwatch got left on a vanity tray. Later, it moved to a drawer, never to emerge. Being attuned to the rhythms of the natural world is less and less possible in modern conditions of work. How wonderful that you still can experience it.

    It tickles me that I work now as my grandparents did – from “kin to cain’t”, from when I “kin” see to when I “cain’t”!

  • oh says:

    I love that phrase you mention, from “kin” to “cain’t”! Excellent.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Tuesday … Clockwork White at This Writing Life ....

meta

