Hold your horses … (it’s horse photo week)

March 21, 2009 § 6 Comments

And indeed, I have held onto my horses.  They have endured no less than a half dozen moves, seen at least as many walls in our various dwellings and still stand patiently and handsome in their pastures, gazing off.

dscn5845
dscn5846

Christmas, season, 1958. My brother had been working secretly all through October and November with his bedroom door closed, which just about brought me to a fever pitch of curiousity. What was he up to? Why did he shout “go away?” whenever I knocked on that solid old wood door.  He was painting these by-number horses, made the frames in Cub Scouts, and (likely under our parents guidance), got the whole thing together, wrapped them up (I swear I remember the package!) and gave me these framed beauties as my Christmas gift.

I adore my big brother to this day. 

Book Selection …

Misty of Chincoteague by Marguerite Henry.  The Beebe family raises a foal born to one of the island’s wild ponies. Misty, a pinto, was “real” and reportedly she later spent part of her life at the author’s home. The book  read like fiction yet the pony was real. I found this unbelievable when I read it in elementary school. My grandfather gave me the book, explaining that Chincoteague was really not far from where he worked  in Washington DC. It was all quite thrilling. Yes, I still have it. And then of course came  Stormy, Misty’s foal.
misty

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to Hold your horses … (it’s horse photo week)

  • Snarl says:

    Too bad your brother doesn’t blog. A sweet gesture, nonetheless.

  • qugrainne says:

    What a thoughtful brother! Wow!!
    This brought forward one of those long forgotten memories that needed a spark to bring it back. I painted a horse very similar to these, around the same time. I loved paint-by-number then. Unfortunately, I no longer have the painting.
    Is your brother still so sweet?

  • laylou says:

    I secretly really like those paintings.

    What about Man’O War? That was a good horse book. =)

  • jeanie says:

    What a wonderful story! And you have them still — that’s the best! I love the idea that he painted those for you — that’s so thoughtful. Lovely. (And as you know, Misty… is one of my faves!)

  • seachanges says:

    What a lovely story – and these paintings still bring back that adoration. Great. Hang on to them forever and ever.

  • oh says:

    Snarl – I sent him a link.

    Q – Yup, big brother is a great guy. Just talked with him today (he’s 1,000 miles away)!

    Laylou – I didn’t know you ever finished that book – esp. since you’re not the horse “nut” that I am.

    Jeanie – And my brother can’t believe I still have those, either!

    SC – Who would have thought those paint-by-numbers would have such durability? Isn’t it fun to hang family art on the walls?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hold your horses … (it’s horse photo week) at This Writing Life ....

meta

