blue light

April 9, 2009 § 7 Comments

 dscn48282

(blue candles in a green glass bowl)

Show me a Pisces who doesn’t like the colors green and blue and I’ll show you a fake fish.

Book selection…

Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerny.  The ’80s, NYC, with the main character working at a magazine as a fact checker. He hopes to write for the mag; for now, the job is OK. His wife has left him. In the evenings, he parties, big time. It sounds awful. Somehow, it’s not.

The book is told in the second person, using “you”, a rather neat trick and it works. McInerney kicked off his career with this novel. Michael J Fox played the movie’s lead and the story was picked up for a B’way production as well. I digress. OK, the story is sad, fast, true, disturbing, tres urban, good. It’s an impotant book, though, for the eclectic reader.  Just remember, though, it’s the ’80s, not “the now.”  I adore Jay and have read everything he’s written since.

lights

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to blue light

  • jeanie says:

    I must be a fishy Leo, because blue and green really do it for me!

    Have a lovely Easter, if my dial-up keeps me from visiting over the weekend!

  • laylou says:

    Blue and green are happy colors =)
    Not sure if I saw Bright Lights, Big City. I’ll have to check it out.

  • qugrainne says:

    I bet HM made those candles!
    Happy Easter, good food, candy, and family!

  • Kim L says:

    Greens and blues are such happy colors together, and I’m not even a pisces! Beautiful candles.

  • Love that color combination! The McInerny book sounds great. I’d love to experiment with the second-person voice.

  • oh says:

    You, too, Jeanie – Happy Easter!

    Laylou – our little Libra, with a passion for blue and green nonetheless. You might have seen the movie – I’m not sure it was as impactful as the book. Netflix it!

    Q – you’re right! HM did the candles. And now, the candlemaker’s wife needs to trim the wicks! Hope you and yours and the doggie kidz are enjoying a grand Easter weekend! I go now in search of more chocolate for the baskets (which aren’t baskets at all this year – I’m using other things).

    Kim – you’re right, those are happy colors. and i seem to use them everywhere except on my walls! thanks for the candle comment – I’ll tell the candlemaker!

    Scobberlotcher – You would have such fun with the “you” perspective. Give it whirl in a short piece and see. BTW, I know what my nanowrimo book will be this year! No, really – it just came to me the other day!

  • Becca says:

    I’m a true Pisces – blue is my favorite of the colors, in sky, sea, clothing, anything!! I took that Facebook quiz “what color are you?” and of course I was blue 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading blue light at This Writing Life ....

meta

