let the flowers do the talking …

April 18, 2009 § 14 Comments

Saturday morning at the Botanical Gardens with HM …
bluepotsaturated

tulipsaturated2

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to let the flowers do the talking …

  • Bellezza says:

    I love flowers! Especially those which the bunnies haven’t munched like we’re dealing with. Great pictures, Oh.

  • qugrainne says:

    Where is the book recommended today??

  • oh says:

    Bellezza – Thanks! and oh, those bunnies! and the deer! we have both, right smack here in the midst of suburbia, and I’m glad we have them but it limits our garden to some very typical stuff they don’t like – geraniums and petunias, with the latter being planted in window boxes!

    Dear Q – I was being “lazy” cuz it’s the weekend. Then I browsed the gift shop at the botanical garden and saw all these wonderful books on Victorian flower diairies and the meanings of flowers, etc. Egads! I need to start getting books-on-tape to keep up…in the meantime, I shall think of something for the next “entry!”

  • anno says:

    Those colors are so fresh! Looks like a wonderful way to spend a lazy Saturday morning. I hope you found coffee or brunch someplace quiet and lovely afterward…

  • Arti says:

    Beautiful! How did you catch them so crisp and sharp? It’ll be a while before we can see some flowers here in Alberta, another two months maybe.

  • ds says:

    Gorgeous! The purple tulips are so feathery–are you sure you didn’t stick a pair of dusters in there 😉 Truly, I have never seen anything like them before (so, who needs the gardening books?). Hope your weekend finished as well as it began.

  • jeanie says:

    Stunning. Such fabulous colors — you must have one fabulous camera!

    Sounds like a lovely outing!

    Thanks for your visit to the Gypsy — did you have fun playing with paper? My sling should be off tomorrow and I’m hoping to spend some time doing exactly that next week!

  • Kim L says:

    Beautiful! I can’t wait for the nice weather and the flowers to come here. I just saw the flower stand being put together at the grocery store… gardening is just around the corner 🙂

  • ds says:

    Please don’t shoot me: there is something on my blog for you, “special edition,” meaning there is NO obligation on your part to do anything; it is a token of appreciation and thanks, because you are one of those who define this particular item in my particular spot.

  • Bree says:

    Love those pictures. The fringy tulips are cool. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen them before.

  • shoreacres says:

    Your flowers are beautiful. I love tulip time – reminds me of street-washings and wooden shoes and almond-paste letters at Pella, Iowa’s tulip festival.
    I’d love to go to Michigan and see the fields full of blooms.

  • what gorgeous photos. The second one particularly

  • oh says:

    Anno – we DID find the cafe in the garden to be delightful that day…somewhere here, I took a picture from the insdie of the cafe, looking out…

    Hi, Arti – I used my “good” camera to get these pictures which must account for the crispness. I dunno.

    Thanks, ds! These are “black parrot” tulips. Not a bad name, eh? Could also be a fingernail polish name!

    Jeanie – congrats on the no-sling thing! Hope you share pics of your paper project(s)!

    Bree – the Garden plants 95,000 bulbs each fall in order to get all kinds of tulips and daffies!

    Shore- I cannot imagine the fields of blooms – they have to awesome – such “light” comes out of these flowers! I have heard mention of the tulip festival in Iowa and have not been – geez, we need a road trip, HM and I.

    Thanks, Crafty – will be over soon to see what wonderful pics you’ve posted!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading let the flowers do the talking … at This Writing Life ....

meta

