the devil wears nada …

April 27, 2009 § 10 Comments

dscn6134

It was Thursday night.  Along with friend LaCarr and my daughter, I pointed the car at the City and we rocketed downtown, dressed to impress (insert hilarious laughter here because I was wearing my “Charlotte” aka Connecticut prep). We were going to the annual St Louis Fashion Show, a “be scene” whose fashion really interested us. Nights out o take a certain amount of planning but throw some fashion in there and I’m downright giddy.

The food (which we did  not expect) was excellent, shishi, cunningly served in black lacquer to-go boxes.  Tommy Bahama now has its name (honestly people, he is NOT a real person) on rum. So rum punch was the drink of the evening.  Adn there were goodie bags on our seats with very cool stuff inside!

The music was loud and mod.  We talked. We nibbled. We walked around. We sipped.  We saw one or two people we knew; they didn’t see us. We wondered where everyone came from who was attending , after all, St Louis is a big small town and you will invariably know someone when you go out.  

Enough. I have nothing bookish or writerly to offer other than a wee bit of reportage on the show, from the point of view of what people were wearing to the show, not on the runway. 

Black is the default wearable. Except for one vagrant hot green with ruffled sleeves … 
Mid-length is most popular; above the knee is considered too short.
Dresses win out over pants/trousers for evening wear.
Shoes are flats or pointy-toed heels. Nope, no laceups, beltups, boots or gladiator wedges – not yet.
Lots and lots and lots of blond. All having fun, too.
Tidy hair, not a lot of the messy look. It’s bobbed, chic-ly pony-tailed or straightened.
Heavy eye makeup – very dramatic.  Surprising, really.
Nothing extreme (except that green dress).  I do like extreme, though.
Two beigey-silver dresses. They looked perfect on their owners, and that’s not an easy color to wear.
Only one (visible) tatoo.
A whole lot of smiling going on.

I have to give Nordstrom props for putting runway looks that were livable, too. The trick, always true of great fashion, is in putting things together, because separately, nothing was “drop dead.” In combos, though, the pieces turned the crowd into “cooers, “with plenty of ooh and aaahs. 

No, Lisa, Nory and I weren’t shopping. We were all about a night out and seeing what’s what. I have returned faithfully  to my closet, without a single stop (so far) at a single store.

I have  neatly re-arranged my shoes, moved the winter “pieces” to the back room closet and stood staring at my standard wardrobe stand-bys, in black, white and tan. I have thought about what to replace. But for now, I’ll wear my black trousers and soft thin knit cardigan again with my fave patent leather flats until the weather really changes.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to the devil wears nada …

  • Jeannine says:

    Great title! And that beigey-silver colour – only really good on trapeze artists and models.

  • laylou says:

    creative play on words there!
    It was a lot fun, wasn’t it? Oh, how I would love to go buy some of the fun pieces, particular that navy/white dress.

  • shoreacres says:

    It is so, so easy on the blogs to chit-chat back and forth without really having a sense of how different our worlds are. Every now and then I get reminded – especially by your photo today, not to mention the description of the evening. My little list:

    Default wearable? tee shirts
    Length? mid-length, yes, to protect the knees
    Shoes? Sperry for work, Rockport for dress
    Eye make-up? None. It gets wiped off with the sweat.

    But still – a whole lot of smiling here, too. And LOVE the title.

    • oh says:

      Ah, Linda. See those shoes in the picture? I took them off the minute I got in the door. Limped upstairs, pulled off my dress (one of only 3) and put on my sweats. I don’t know what it is about fashion with me; I don’t “do” it but I love looking at it. Nope, I wouldn’t work in a fashion boutique or shop but yes I WOULD work for Vogue. Except they’re not making me any offers!!!!

  • qugrainne says:

    Oh, what a fun night out with all the right parts – food, fashion, and friends!
    I had a fashion night tonight – went prom dress shopping with the 16 year old, and the 20 year old came too (the perfect, worldly and experienced consultant). I sat in the chair and they ran back and forth with dresses, giggling and preening and snapping pictures with their phones.

    The perfect dress was purchased, and on to Noodles for supper. Ahhhhh. The simple pleasures.

    • oh says:

      Oh, the prom gown shopping – what fun! And what a good way to catch up on fashion, who’s going with whom, who’s havin parties, all that stuff – sigh, I miss it. And of course learn what’s hot/cool in fashion along with the what-do-you-think-of-this-one?

  • jeanie says:

    Oh, dear — if tidy hair is “in” — I am so out of it, I don’t know if I’ll be able to live. Not to mention the shoe thing… But it sounds like a fabulous evening wiht tons of fun! And black and bright green both work for me!

  • Bellezza says:

    This has to be one of the best post titles I’ve ever read! Ah, the conundrum of clothes…I wish I could get away with wearing nothing. No, actually I’m not that self confident (or devilish!), but I do tire of putting things together. When I was at the Interlochen National Music Camp in my teens we wore a uniform of navy knickers and sky blue blouses. I often long for that simplicity again…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the devil wears nada … at This Writing Life ....

meta

