8 at the table…

May 25, 2009 § 17 Comments

Eight at the table….
Six chairs….
Tweleve bottles of cold beer
who cares? 

Dozens of stories
 lotsa wine
Cameras are off
even mine.

hellos and goodbyes
and next-time-you’re-here’s
all of it stretching
across all the years

summer sings
hear the hum
door is open
y’all come.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 17 Responses to 8 at the table…

  • shoreacres says:

    Grinning and grinning because I realize I’ve been in Texas long enough to hear the rest of the phrase in my mind:

    “Y’all come back now, y’hear?”

    Sounds like a wonderful holiday!

    • oh says:

      Dear Shore – I forgot that – I think that entire phrase plays in all our heads and I wrote it (in part) subconsciously! have I told you lately how much i like Texas. It just keeps popping up on the family’s radar. And have just discovered an old friend lives there, too.
      BTW, yes, it was a great holiday. Now, we’re resting up from it!

  • jeanie says:

    Oh, I love it! I have a great smile on my face, too, because I can “hear” the joy!

    • oh says:

      Dear J – We had a great time. And now, it’s time to catch up on laundry, projects, etc! And see what pictures I took (honestly,I didn’t have it in my hand nearly as often as usual).

  • Arti says:

    Thanks for the inspiration, I sure need some.

    • oh says:

      Hi, ARti, Hope you got your Spring going on up there now, yes! thanks for stopping by. I’ve been “quiet” here but will get back into blogging this weekend – yay!

  • anne says:

    Sounds delightful. Those are the best moments….

  • laylou says:

    Thanks again for hosting on Sunday night! Much needed break =) The girls loved the house and the area, and you and HM as well!!!

    • oh says:

      Laylou – It was great to see our friends from the old neighborhood. Honestly, it’s so easy to reconnect and you know I love having the house full!!!!!

  • ds says:

    Fabulous–I am all a-grin (& thanks to the others, that line is in my head now too…hear?)!!

    • oh says:

      I do! I hear the rest of the line, too! will stop by over at your “place” in a bit – I am soo blogging-behind in reading and commenting and miss it.

  • Becca says:

    Sounds like a great party! Wish I’d been there 😉

    • oh says:

      Hi, Becca, Thanks, it was a fine party. And this weekend, we think (emphasis on “think”)we are going to just do … nothing? hm.
      Wouldn’t it be fun to have all the bloggers around the table, although we’d need a pretty big table, right? IT’s something to think about.
      In the meantime, I shall check in over at bookstack and see what you’re up to. I ahve to confess that I am only now reading THE OTHER BOLEYN GIRL, long after everyone else has, I think.

  • Hi Oh, Thanks for you comment. I didn’t realise I had left that picture soooo huge lol. I got called away from the computer mid-changing and forgot.
    Wow, what an huge turtle. How exciting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 8 at the table… at This Writing Life ....

meta

