book to movie…

June 10, 2009 § 16 Comments

DSCN6429
(fave bookmark from Westminster Abbey bookshop)

I had to watch Letterman last night through a writing haze, I just had to, simply to say “hey, I can stay up late if I want.” Julia Roberts was on and we all know Letterman loves Julia (in a good way),  he always has and during the interview, she didn’t scrimp on that laugh of hers which made it worth it.

Did you know that she’s starring in the movie EAT PRAY LOVE.
Egads, what? already a movie? from memoir to movie? (I read RUNNING WITH SCISSORS. oh, dear. Pain, pain, pain, and sheer oddity and disturbing-ness.)
Those of you who have already finished the book  will know if she’s a good choice or not. I’ve no idea.

Well, Hollywood can take its time getting into final production. 
That’s an iron law here in Oh Land: read book first, see movie second.

(will they make it better? or, different?  I’d better get reading…)

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 16 Responses to book to movie…

  • I’m one of the few human beings who’s not a fan of Eat, Pray, Love. Oddly enough, though, I think I’d enjoy seeing Julia Roberts in the role and might like it more in movie form.

    There’s only one other movie I liked better than the book and that was “Bridget Jones’s Diary”.

  • Bree says:

    I’m reading this book now but only into it about 50 pages. So far I think Julia Roberts is an excellent choice. Must finish book before movie comes out. Thanks for letting us know its being made!

    • oh says:

      Jen – sometimes a movie triumphs over print – you never know. so much depends on the actors and director, don’t you think? I hope this one is a pleasant surprise for everyone. I’m not sure when it comes out, though!

      Bree – I think you have time on the movie…not sure. But they did NOT show a film clip on Letterman so it surely has not been released yet.

  • Lys says:

    i haven’t read the book yet, but i’ve only heard good things about it. i definitely need to start it before the movie comes out so i can do the comparison. julia roberts seems like she would fit the role from the description, she’s a much better choice than half the actresses out there anyway.

  • laylou says:

    Hmm… confession: I don’t know much about Eat, Pray Love. I guess I should check in on it that book, you know, add it to the stack of the 20 other books I haven’t read yet.

    I always enjoy Julia Roberts. She’s just so darn happy.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Lys, You can probably find a used copy of it out there somewhere. I asked for it for my birthday (Nora gave it to me!) because I kinda sense it’s one I’d like to have and keep! And I agree about the lovely Mss Roberts.

      Laylou – You can borrow the book from me when I finish it, ‘k? and hey, we haven’t seen a Julia movie since Mona Lisa Smiles, right?

  • shoreacres says:

    I haven’t read the book yet, but on a regular basis I watch a video a friend sent. It’s of a TED talk given by Elizabeth Gilbert, and, for me, it’s as inspirational as anything I’ve ever heard in my life.

    It’s about writing, and genius, failure and success – and I highly, highly recommend it. Here’s the link:

  • shoreacres says:

    Oh, my.. didn’t mean to plop a youtube in your comments – only meant for there to be a link. Feel free to edit or delete 😉

    • oh says:

      Linda – No problem! It’s fine right here where it is. I started watching it, got 5 minutes in, got interruprted and am coming back to it. Also, you inspired me to look up more info about her. Her web site, http://www.elizabethgilbert.com/, is good and offers some fine writing info, too. Really, thanks for this!

  • Py zahn says:

    I tried to read the book three times and just could not get hooked into it. I have seen Elizabeth Gilbert on TV several times and she is a very smart, peaceful woman.

    Sorry, but I think casting Julia Roberts is the supreme sell out. She’s a nice enough woman, but as an actress she is always Julia Roberts. Can’t get past that.

    From what I know of the book, casting would have been much more interesting and in the spirit of the book with someone like Hope Davis or Patricia Clarkson.

  • litlove says:

    I will have to get reading too. I really want to try this as there aren’t so many non-fiction books that make it really big. I’ve heard about her speeches, too, and how inspirational Gilbert is, so I’m most intrigued to read her. It’ll be interesting to see whether it’s the kind of book that actually slots into the movie format, though. I do wonder what on earth they will do with it!

    • oh says:

      Hi, Py! I agree that Ms Gilbert seems so peaceful. Glad she takes her yoga to heart. Hope Davis? Not a bad idea at all.

      Litlove – I love your comment ” I will have to get reading too.” I totally identify with that. It nearly gets to “stealing” time to read! Husband and i are talking about doing a staycation this year, just sitting out back by the pool and reading, not going anywhere. Do you have any tips or tricks for finding reading time?

  • qugrainne says:

    I went to the doctor last week for travel shots and told her I was going to Bali and she said “have you read Eat, Pray, Love?” and I said I am a snob when it comes to best sellers and she said “you have to read it!” so I bought it and gobbled it up. It hit me just right, all the way around. Checked out Gilbert’s site – she says stuff so well! And I love Julie Roberts, so I suspect the movie will be fun…..
    The story even inspired me to take the time and get back to meditating – it’s all good!!!

  • oh says:

    Q – So you really did gobble it up? OK, I feel on the brink of reading a great book. And, Bali! I’d forgotten. You really are working through your birthday list! Bravo, you!

  • jeanie says:

    Books, movies! Ah, there’s a discussion! Here’s an anecdote (which I might actually write about on the Gypsy someday). We were airing a behind-the-scenes special during pledge and a co-worker was watching with his teenage daughter. After watching the first segment she said she couldn’t watch anymore (and it was about one of her favorite shows.) “It spoils the magic,” she said.

    I have that experience with movies. “Da Vinci” — couldn’t put it down; didn’t like the movie. (I loved the Angels and Demons book more, but am hesitant to see the film, apart from a travelogue on Rome. The only movie I’ve seen I liked better than the book was “Bridges of Madison County.”

    Which brings me to “EPL,” which I read this winter. I thoroughly enjoyed the book (though I did get bogged down in India and was awfully glad when she moved on to Bali!). Julia Roberts is one talented actress and so darned fun! So, I’m sure she’ll be fine, though when Patricia Clarkson was mentioned, I thought, “Hmmm. Nice.” I could have seen Laura Linney pull it off well, too, and some others. But I’m not worried.
    It’ll be fine.

    The Gilbert video Shoreacres mentioned. FOUR STAR!

  • shoreacres says:

    Creeping in with a p.s….

    Before there was visual rhetoric, there was semiotics, the study of “signs”. Not just billboards, of course, but everything that signifies meaning.

    In semiotics, “A text is an assemblage of signs (including words, images, sounds and/or gestures) constructed and interpreted with reference to conventions associated with a particular genre”

    There’s a great, mostly (!) understandable introduction in Daniel Chandler’s Semiotics for Beginners, which can be found here: http://www.aber.ac.uk/media/Documents/S4B/sem01.html

    OK. Back to the docks 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading book to movie… at This Writing Life ....

meta

