Faulkner me …

July 30, 2009 § 13 Comments

DSCN6608

Rather a continuance of yesterday’s pictures…if you can read the sign, you’ll see that this plaque marks the spot/site where Faulkner wrote SOLDIER”S PAY (didn’t read that one yet).
The building was erected in 1840.
On the site of a French colonial prison.

I am glad this building/house/site was not on the ghost tour we took. That would ruin it for me. I prefer literary refernces to haunted hot spots.

When I read Faulkner as a kid, I was anxious for and all about the story.
When I read him in college, I was all about his style.
When I read him now, his sentences and imagery send me spinning off into ideas and imaginings for my own writing and I can barely stay tethered, in a most delightful way, to the words on his pages.

There is much to love about Faulkner.
There is much to love about this building that has no doubt been painted time after time since since his last visits in the mid-20th century.

DSCN6611As soon as you walk in the door of the Faulkner House Books, this little table is there. I snapped these pictures on the down-low because I wasn’t sure what the Proprietess would say.  Though she’s always helpful, if not tolerant. (check out the link which offers professional pictures of the place and wee bit of history – very charming!)

She’s in the picture below, at the little alcove where her “office” is.

DSCN6613
DSCN6614This gives a glimpse of how small the shop is. Yet the shelves reach the ceiling, approx 12 feet high.
“How do we see the books on the higher shelves?” Laylou whispered.
“I don’t know,”I answered. “I never even get beyond my own height with all the stuff in here!”

A couple came into the shop and began talking with the Proprietess. It seemed they might have been old friends. Or, not.  The woman kept repeating that she was looking for a book her son had recommended. She would ask him but he had just left for Europe. All he took was a backpack and the only thing in it was books!   The Proprietess smiled and “mmmm-ed” and was very pleasant but was unable to discover exactly what book or what type of book the woman wanted. The couple left with lots of cheery farewells and the bell on the door tinkled and they were gone.

And Laylou and I went back to wondering what was up on the higher shelves but not really because we already had several books in our hand to choose from.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Faulkner me …

  • ds says:

    Sounds like my favorite kind of place….

  • Lezlie says:

    That looks like a great shop to explore!
    Lezlie

  • oh says:

    DS – I feel like I’ve been indoors so much this week (working) that I am about to burst out of here and go bookstore hopping. That are about 7 independent bookstores in St. Louis. And I’ve only visited two of them! I gotta say, though, that the Faulkner House is one of my faves ever.

    Lezlie – thanks for stopping by! Do visit again!

  • Arti says:

    What a character book shop! I miss indie book stores… they’re being replaced so rapidly, at least in our city. As for Faulkner, I’ve just posted Newsweek’s Top 100 Books of all times. And I’m happy to report that he’s placed 5th.

    • oh says:

      Arti, so many booklists, so little time. I think universities should have a class called “booklists” and of course it would be at least a 6-credit course. Or, an MFA for reading…guess that already sort of exists… I LOVE all these lists, though!

  • savidgereads says:

    Only just found your blog and thought would say hello, its lovely… I shall be coming back!

    • oh says:

      and I just checked in on yours again about “book finds” and it has provoked my desire to run right out of the house and see what I can “find” however, it’s Sunday and one or two of the “little” bookshops I can think of are closed. (the “giants” of course, are open, like Barnes and Noble, Borders, etc.) pooh.

  • Joanne says:

    Lovely post! How lucky to visit this place and William Faulkner! I thought it was cute about the books on the top shelf. Happy reading.

  • shoreacres says:

    Lovely, lovely bookshop. It reminds me that there is something down the street from me in a little house under big live oaks with a sign that says something about books. Surely no one would start an indie bookshop within easy driving distance of three book barns?

    You’ve just made me resolve to do a bit of a scouting expedition. If it’s a real bookshop, I’ll buy a book. Any book. Just because.

    • oh says:

      dear Shoreacres – maybe there are enough of true booklovers to keep the “indies” alive. It’s place and space sometimes as much as it is the books, I dunno. Looking forward to what you might find and hear on your book scouting expedition!

  • Nora says:

    The store owner must have a ladder hidden somewhere in that store. Or stilts. I would have liked to see her on stilts.

  • jeanie says:

    What a divine shop! I would never have been able to tear myself away! I know what you mean about the photos — I had that dilemma in France! Love the ones you featured though! I’ll have to remember that spot for a future visit!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Faulkner me … at This Writing Life ....

meta

