Book review: My New Orleans …

August 8, 2009 § 16 Comments

DSC_0224

This little book was on the “main” table in the Faulkner House bookstore. I was going to purchase Hemingway’ s book on writing to replace the one I gave Snarl, but I am not keen on redundancy. And this little book caught my eye.

I liked the book’s title because I think everyone has a “my New Orleans,” that is, their own way of seeing it, even if their view of the Crescent City is from afar, having never visited. (I DO have a problem with stereotypes as in those who assess that city as a hotbed of  sin and sweat and see nothing else.)

Anyway, inside this book cover it mentions that purchase of the book also supports the city.

Rather than a formal review, here are some reasons for reading this book.

You enjoy essays.
You are interested in the form and format of the current essay, and you find quite a range here.
You are thinking about doing a book of essays about your town, city, home.
You know your way around New Orleans and can appreciate street references, various establishments, recipes
You don’t know anything at all about New Orleans but are intrigued
You’re doing research on what residents and/or celebrities have to say about the Crescent City.
You found the book at Starbucks and thought you might give it a whirl.
You are curious to hear Wynton Marsalis’s opinion of the place.
You like something you can read, stop reading, set down, pick up again…repeat.

The book’s editor, Rosemary James, lives upstairs over the Faulkner House Bookstore.  When I left the shop, I stood in Pirate’s Alley looking up at her windows for a moment.  I waved in case she happened to be looking out through the lacy curtains.

Yeah, I’m a book groupie. So sue me.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 16 Responses to Book review: My New Orleans …

  • shoreacres says:

    Here’s another reason for reading the book:

    New Orleans isn’t a city, she’s a character ~ as sexy, elusive, contradictory, mysterious and perfectly readable as any heroine even the best novelist could dream up.

    • oh says:

      “Shore” – You are spot on with your city summary. Imagine the essay you would do on New Orleans! No, really.
      And speaking of writing, the book to which you contributed should be coming out soon! I have tons of bookmarks the marketing dept sent to me. I can send you some!

  • ds says:

    I’m not suing you–I’m joining you! And I agree with Ms. Shore, NO is a character, as all of the best cities are (Venice comes to mind–but NO is our Venice isn’t she). I love these views into the lady’s character, but you’re killing me. I HAVE to go there (but how, and when–there’s the rub)!!!

    • oh says:

      Yay, DS! Book groupies unite! and that’s a comparison I had not thought of, NO being our Venice. That would make for a fine essay, too.

      I don’t know how far it is for you to get there, but in the meantime, bear with me, I’m just going to do one or two more entries on NO.

      • ds says:

        I will try to hold up ;)–these entries have been fascinating (so are your non-NO entries, for that matter). The only thing better than actual travelling is vicarious travelling.

  • Toni Gomez says:

    Hey.. I loved your reasons for reading. I would love this one for my coffee table. Thanks.

    • oh says:

      Toni! thanks for stopping by. Yes, get the book for your coffee table and I”ll bet it will inspire some good conversation as well! Happy summering!

  • Joanne says:

    Sounds like a great book! I enjoyed the list of excellent reasons why you should read this book. Love the wave. 🙂

    • oh says:

      Hi, Joanne – I’m thinking every city, great or small, deserves a book of essays. It would be a fun project to work on, too.

  • They are good reasons. Though I have never been to New Orleans…I am intrigued.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Scarlet! If you ever get Stateside, visiting NOLA should go on your itinerary. In the meantime, we’ll give you glimpses.

      Know that i love seeing the photos you include on your blog, too!

  • seachanges says:

    I have missed some great postings here on your blog about New Orleans and others and am going to sit down and read up on your site! Love your reasons for buying / reading the book on New Orleans but after checking the Amazone (English) website I realise that this must be a specifically American edition. Lots of stuff on New Orleans though. It’s one of the cities in America I would love to visit some day, some time… Have fun.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Seachanges – So good to hear from you. I know you’re a great traveler and also used to a wonderful train system in comparison to ours which is nearly non-existent, but I can imagine you touring and reading your way across the States and writing the most wonderful pieces as you go.

  • Arti says:

    We have an eatery that serves New Orleans style BBQ pulled pork here in Calgary Alberta. That’s the closest association I have up here. The book sounds like a real interesting guide to the heart and soul of the city.

  • Bree says:

    oh I like how you listed reasons to read this book versus a “review”. Very cool!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book review: My New Orleans … at This Writing Life ....

meta

