A reading challenge accepted … because book bloggers rock our world …

August 9, 2009 § 18 Comments

I have committed (see little dog drawing at right) to a reading challenge. This is new for me.   This is Dolce Bellezza’s  wonderful doing. She has kicked off her annual Japanese Reading Challenge, (and duly note that she is very open to “joiners” despite the July 31 kickoff.

Why jump on this one?
Because she requires ONE book written by a Japanese author, to be read by 2010.  (again, see link for details, and for prizes!!!!)
Because her excitement is contagious.
Because her blog site is lovely in so many ways.

You might want to dash over there and have a look and join in the fun (link is above). There will be some fine discussions on a lot of the books.

I’ve signed up to read Murakami’s NORWEIGAN WOOD.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 18 Responses to A reading challenge accepted … because book bloggers rock our world …

  • Bellezza says:

    It couldn’t be a successful, or fun, challenge without participants like you, Oh. Thanks for linking hands and spreading the excitement. XO

  • ds says:

    YIPPEE! So glad you’re doing this; it’ll be fun to know your thoughts on Mr. Murakami.

    • oh says:

      DS – true confessions: I know nothing about him but I have seen his name many times…now I see why as I venture further into NORWEIGAN WOOD. But really, must not use that book as my fall-asleep-on-a-worknight book or I’ll miss half of what he’s got going on.

  • Mel says:

    I have signed up for the challenge also. I just completed and reviewed on my blog Murakami’s “After Dark”. Under the terms of the Challenge that means I have now completed my challenge. I intend to read at least ten Japanese novels between now and the end of the challenge. To me this is a great change to get into a whole new world of reading!

  • Ruth says:

    I think it’s about time I came here, after seeing your nice comments at Shoreacres and Third Storey Window. Now you’ve visited synch-ro-ni-zing – yay!

    Please realize how happy it made me that you paid me such a nice compliment, especially given your work with a bridal magazine. Thank you. 🙂

    As I keep telling DS, I am a sad, bad, undisciplined reader and former English major. But I bravely declare myself literary all the same. So I’ll be back.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Ruth – so glad you stopped by! Isn’t blog world the perfect place to be literary or not and see what’s going on and still have an idea and opinion and everyone is interested…?! I have forsaken formal reviews (TV, newspapers, etc) to see what bloggers (and esp those of book-ish intent) have to say and it’s great!
      And oh yes, your wedding work was just lovely and was just talking about it with my daughter today!

  • aha, i may join in this one, i love Japanese literature…

  • jeanie says:

    I’ve read that. I’ll be curious to know what you think!

  • Nora says:

    Hm. I don’t even know of any Japanese authors which is surely pathetic. I will investigate and perhaps jump on the bandwagon as well =)

  • Bellezza says:

    Knowing Japanese authors is not a prerequisite, only wanting to know them. There’s so much about Japanese literature I don’t know that I had to host a challenge into the genre! 😉

  • Lisa D says:

    Your daughter told me about your blog & about this challenge! I just got a book by Murakami this week so I will definitely be doing this challenge. I have heard that he is a really good author, so hopefully we both enjoy his books!

  • oh says:

    Lisa! I’m so glad you’re joining up – Bellezza will be delighted.

    I’ve never read Murakami before – this is all new to me. And thank you for stopping by! This will be a reading adventure, right?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A reading challenge accepted … because book bloggers rock our world … at This Writing Life ....

meta

