Retro book-o …

August 12, 2009 § 7 Comments

DSCN6930

I was sorting through some pictures taken in NOLA (about 350!), looking for something bright and shiny for today. Having just come off a long, long project, I felt like celebrating somehow. 
I do like pink. I like blue, green and warm shades of white, too. But pink pops.

This picture, taken on Royale and St. Philip, is just a “wayward” shot, snapped as I walked by because, again, of the pink. It was a cloudy afternoon, temporarily, and the inhabitants of this apartment had their lights on, as you will notice.

But the picture alone, regardless of its place but definitely because of the color, reminded me suddenly of a book I had and finally read as a kid… THE PINK MOTEL by Carol Ryrie Brink.  It wa a children’s book. It was an offering from the children’s reading club from which our Gran purchased so many of our wonderful gifts. (You could always count on her to give a good book.)

I remember the bookcover’s color – pretty much the same as in this photo. I remember that it sat on the shelf for a long time before I picked it up. And I recall that it turned out be really quite good, though I had approached it with some skepticism…(can an 8  year old be skeptical?)  So I read the whole thing and remember that I liked it. I just looked on Amazon to see what the reader reviews  had to say. Oh, yeah! I did like it.

The book is still out there. New cover, of course.
images
Ever think of a book you read as a kid and wonder if it is still around?

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Retro book-o …

  • I do! I think often about a book called ‘The Green Piper’ by Victor Kelleher. A image of ‘green tendrils’ has always stayed strong in my mind. In fact, you have prompted my to go read it again. I am loving all you photos of New Orleans by the way!

  • qugrainne says:

    Oh, Lovely photo! The pink is…. sweet! Like cotton candy.
    And I do have books from childhood I think of – the ones I no longer own, for some reason or another. My favorite was Caroline and Her Friends by Pierre Probst – now out of print and HORRIBLY expensive when you can find a copy. Oh well.
    I never read The Pink Hotel. And how wonderful you had a grandma who purchased books for you.

    • oh says:

      Didn’t know “Caroline” but the cover (of the image I found) is sweet and I love the bookseller’s comment: “out of print, limited availability.” Which just makes me curiouser and curiouser about it!

  • jeanie says:

    I remember the name Carol Ryrie Brink from other books, but can’t remember what they are! Now I may have to go splunking on wikipedia.

    The photo is wonderful. It reminds me a great deal of Monet’s pink house with green shutters! I am SO loving your visit to New Orleans!

  • jeanie says:

    Caddie Woodlawn! That’s it!

  • oh says:

    Jeanie – That’s it! Caddie Woodlawn! and no two books could be more different that Pink Motel and Caddie.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Retro book-o … at This Writing Life ....

meta

