Rain doesn’t always = curling up to read

August 16, 2009 § 20 Comments

DSCN6921

Drat. It was going to be a “carrot” day. Weed garden. Read one chapter as “reward.”  Make potato salad and deviled eggs. Read another chapter. Sweep the patios, porches and front sidewalks. Read more. Read outdoors. Write outdoors. Be outdoors.

Pooh. It’s very solemn out there. No shadows. No sun.
Oh, stop it. I know we need rain. 
Fine. I’ll get the laundry , vacuuming and some cleaning done (yawn).

Tagged: , ,

§ 20 Responses to Rain doesn’t always = curling up to read

  • I’m needing to read right now. Instead I’m reading electronically. I hope to switch to paper shortly.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Jen, It’s amazing how much reading we do electronically, isn’t it? and yet we almost hunger to have the paper copy, part of the aethetics of reading…I have yet to fall for Amazon’s Kindle…hmmmm

  • Bellezza says:

    I love rainy days (as much as I love the picture you posted here). They somehow give me permission to read, to be lazy. Not that I’m lazy. I’ve been working my ass off over here getting the house absolutely ship-shape because school starts tomorrow. While parts of me, most of me, is very glad for a job, other huge parts are crying like the rain in your photo because my reading days are over. To a great extent. Good look on that potato salad and deviled egg idea. I’d just sit and read, myself.

    • oh says:

      Dear B, By now you are back in the classroom, even as I write this (and I am late for work, actually!) Bravo to you on getting your house shipshape.

      Hope we can all continue to work some good “reading” into our schedules.

      PS the salads came out well…and then yes, I got back to reading!

  • Becca says:

    I like rainy days for all sorts of things…cleaning cupboards, watching movies, drinking tea, and of course reading 🙂

    • oh says:

      Tea! What a great idea! We have just “redone” the kitchen and I have all my tea things together. Feeling organized (mostly!) and perhaps should set out some tea. Yes, perfect!

  • justicejenniferreads says:

    As much as I love the summer sun and being out doors, I also love rain! I love winter because it gives me a reason to layer, huddle up in tons of soft/warm blankets, and stay inside with warm yummy drinks. But whenever winter gives way to spring, I can’t help but celebrate. There is something about the soaking up the sun that just provides the absolute perfect energy boost!

    Awesome picture as well – it looks like it really came down!

    • oh says:

      JJR – Yes, the rain gives a break, an excuse to go indoors and do small easy things (and read!).
      And you’re so right about winter. Cozy, stack of books, couple of blankets…and chcolate!
      I wouldn’t mind, however, to live where the sun always shines…but then, that’s easily said. Where would I be without spring flowers and fall crispness?

      (btw, yes, the rain in the picture brought with it such thunder and lightning that the electricity went out temporarily minutes later…)

  • I love your photo! It looks like it would make a great book cover too.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Scarlet – always good to hear from your corner of the world! And you are moving into spring, right, as we head towards fall?

  • jeanie says:

    I think all those tasks qualify for a chapter break! Beautiful photograph. (There is something wonderful about a good rain, isn’t there?!)

    • oh says:

      Jeanie! We had a terrific rain, thunder and lightning storm the other night – as least that’s what everyone said. I slept through it!!!!

  • Joanne says:

    And to think you were lapping it all up the other day in your lovely garden! Oh well, at least your housework gets done, however boring.

    • oh says:

      Funny, huh, how the weather is still and always in charge? I don’t mind, I really don’t. Yup, and got some cleaning done and then rearranged some books on our bookshelves (which is not work at all!)

  • qugrainne says:

    Your photo!!?? Lovely.
    Rain serves all sorts of purposes, eh?

    • oh says:

      Hi, Q, I have no idea when you’re tretuning, but in the meantime, thanks for sharing your “bali high” (and lows) with us. It’s amazing stuff.

  • Andi says:

    I wish I could remember the last time a rainy day meant I got to read. Perhaps I should make that happen. Thanks for the inspiration. Now I pray for rain.

  • shoreacres says:

    Oh, I am so far behind, oh! But what a lovely photograph of rain, and such nice comments from everyone.

    I confess – I have rain envy. I would give anything for a truly rainy day. Sprinkles are fun, little blow-up showers are fine for giving the birds a drink and a bath, but we’re still in drought, and south Texas is dying, and everyone is as hard and cracked in their attitudes as the ground.

    I don’t want rain for reading or tea or closet-cleaning. I want rain for rain – for sitting and watching it, and going outdoors and walking in it, and for being grateful that the trees and flowers and farmers and creatures will keep living because of it.

    Now that I look at it, your photo isn’t just lovely. It’s beautiful.

  • Bree says:

    I do the same treat/reward system. LOL

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rain doesn’t always = curling up to read at This Writing Life ....

meta

