Movie (Julie and Julia) trumps book

August 31, 2009 § 8 Comments

We went to see Julie and Julia and I gotta say that this time, movie trumps book.
Hands down.
Big time.
Majorly.Although the film is based in part on two books, two lives, with J&J being the inspiration for Nephron.

Yes, I know everyone loved it but the book was whiney and it  bumbled along and Long Island City is/was  a dump when I lived in NY OK and yes, I’ll grant that cooking the whole book, MASTERING THE ART OF FRENCH COOKING in one year, is a feat.
Still, it would also be a feat if I were to translate the entire 1978 World Book Encyclopedia into Greek. Or German. (I speak neither.)

Anyway, I loved the movie, no particular reason. Movies are often mood, time and what you just had for dinner. Amy Adams saved the role of the narrator (as in, Julie Powell) and Meryl did her best mimic thing ever; she was Julia Child.  And occasionally, no, often, the movie made me laugh with delight.

On Vogue.com you will find a video interview with Nora Ephron and Jeffrey Steingarten (who writes food “column” for VOGUE) and it’s kinda cosmo, kinda witty and urbane, and best of all, it’s about the movie. But the code to insert it here won’t translate without hooking to my blog in some nefarious way.

Soooo, please find below a quick film of Nora Ephron thanking Meryl Streep for her work (which at this time was Silkwood and Heartburn). but it’s funny and it gets the point across and it will make you laugh.
And it will make you laugh in a different way than the whacky animal entry I posted yesterday.

Click. Watch. Enjoy.
And if you’re having a tough day, ask Meryl Streep to “play you.”

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 8 Responses to Movie (Julie and Julia) trumps book

  • ds says:

    I enjoyed the movie, too, and I have not read (gasp!)either book, much less cooked from The Art of French Cooking. Meryl Streep was brilliant & I liked Stanley Tucci also. Video clip says it all (Nora Ephron always makes me laugh). But then, so did Sunday’s–Alan?!
    Many thanks for the smiles.

  • jeanie says:

    As you know, I really loved the Julie book, and I ADORED the Julia book (far the better of the two) and I also adored the movie! It was just a joy — and faithful. I actually liked Amy’s Julie better than Julie’s Julie! And I wanted Stanley Tucci for all my own! Can’t wait to check out the video clip! Yes, that might be one I someday buy — when she was chopping those onions… well, I thought I’d start to cry with laughter!

  • Oh, I am so with you on this. I didn’t love the Julie/Julia book and I still haven’t read My Life in France (although I’m really looking forward to it) and having so much more of Julia in the movie was fabulous. I also thought Amy Adams did a stellar job with Julie and made her more sympathetic than she was in the book. And I LOVED your clip – thanks for that!

  • seachanges says:

    I have neither read the book nor seen the film (yet)… Oh, I am soooo running behind myself. Mind, I do have a copy of the Art of French Cooking somehwere on one of my shelves, but have only mastered some ten of the receipees, and even that happened a long time ago (when I had more time)… But first things first, must go and see the movie!

  • Arti says:

    Hats off to Nora Ephron… she’s hilarious. She should be in movies herself! I’m glad you had enjoyed the movie… I knew you would. I look forward to more of MS and AA together. The last one I saw was Doubt, which was good, but I’d watch J & J again, anytime. So, maybe I’ll get the DVD when it comes out. I’m sure the special features must be highly entertaining.

  • Pamela says:

    Meryl Streep is a wizard and this movie made me want to come home and cook everything imaginable. I have the boeuf bourguignon lined up for the first cold night of autumn!

  • Celeste Maia says:

    I cant wait to see the movie, eventually it will come to Spain. But I have Mastering The Art of French Cooking and in the 30 or so years I have had it I probably cooked just a handfull of the recipes. But the tarte Normande aux pommes has been a favorite in the family ever since I first tried it.I thoroughly enjoyed the video clip, Meryl Streep looked radiant and beautiful. I have enjoyed every movie she has made.
    Your entry is very funny and you write very well, it is a joy to come here.
    I’ve just arrived in Madrid, after 2 months in Portugal. It is back to reality and back to work. And I am looking forward to both.

  • anno says:

    I’m so envious of everyone who’s gotten to see this one already! If I can talk my husband my family out of seeing District 9 this weekend, I might finally get to see this one. Otherwise I’ll have to wait another week or two. I definitely want to see this one on the big screen.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Movie (Julie and Julia) trumps book at This Writing Life ....

meta

