Friday misc

September 11, 2009 § 23 Comments

DSC_6489
Herein, a shout out to Dolce Bellezza and  salute to the ongoing Japanese Literature Challenge 3!

It just so happened, too, that the Missouri Botanical Garden hosted a 3-day Japanese Festival last weekend and the rain clouds parted for thousands of us to enjoy the performances, vendors and visuals.

And today, I will pick up my first Manga ever (can I read back to front?) if it has arrived at the bookstore. It’s volume 1 of EMMA by Mori. Someone in blog world mentioned it weeks ago and I thank you for the recommendation, whoever you are.

DSC_6494

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 23 Responses to Friday misc

  • Bobbi says:

    Hi Oh!!
    Yes, I did receive the book you sent me – it came the day before the fire and luckily was okay. With all the clean-up I haven’t had time to even open the cover, but it is on the top of my TBR pile. Thanks so much for sending it my way.:-)
    Bobbi

    • oh says:

      bobbi, Hope all is going well at your house. You deserve a lovely bit of time to read and enjoy the later days of summer. Here’s to a grand TBR pile!

  • Bellezza says:

    Oh, OH! I WANT TO BE THERE AT THE JAPANESE FESTIVAL!!! These pictures are so lovely. Does the Botanical Garden host it every year at the same time? I’d so drive over to see it. Anyway, thanks for letting me enjoy it vicariously, and I’m looking forward to your thoughts on the manga. That’s such a fun thing to read once you get used to going “backwards” (right to left). Blessings on your weekend.

  • Celeste Maia says:

    Beautiful kimonos hanging in the garden. How many gueishas wore them? What were they feeling? If we put one on, will we feel graceful too?

    • oh says:

      Celeste – I watched several people try kimonos on over their clothes. It did indeed change their carriage. And some purchased them and wore them around the garden. How cool is that? Yes, they even took smaller steps and seemed to smile a lot. Very lovely, especially to see them among the crowd otherwise dressed in summer casual. Photo ops were everywhere but had to watch my step at the same time because it was so crowded.

  • jeanie says:

    You are getting me where I live! Japanese culture is so beautiful. I love everything about it from the silks, papers, kimono to the fabulous food and the ikebana! Have you ever read “Travelers Tales” series book on Japan? It’s filled with short pieces on various elements of Japanese culture. And these photos are simply fantastic! Both Rick and I would have loved this exhibit!

    • oh says:

      No, I haven’t heard of the Travelers Tales! But it’s going on the list right now.
      BTW, this festival happens every year here at the Garden and last for 3 days. I’m just saying, you know, in case you and Rick can add it to your to-do list!

  • Trish says:

    How awesome! I keep thinking to myself–I live in Dallas, surely cool things happen here, too. but I think we’re a pretty culture-less city. Don’t tell anyone I said that!

    I’ve been hearing great things about Emma lately–really hope you enjoy!

    • oh says:

      Trish – I’ll start Emma as soon as the bookstore gets volume 1 for me! (they got volume 4!) That’s ok. It’s worth waiting for. In the meantime, I’m Murakami-ing.

      • oh says:

        PS I cannot explain it but I really like Texas. I’ve been there only on business, but each time, it’s dished something wonderful…I think it’s the people (ok, and the weather, and the willingness to wear cowboy hats and all kinds of denim). Culture-less? No. Look forward to next my time there.

  • Celeste Maia says:

    I woke up this morning thinking of a lovely poem by Hisajo Sugita about a woman walking with a “leger kimono d’ete”, a light summer kimono, just like the ones in your images. It goes something like “la lune effleure ma peaux, j’ote mon kimono d’ete apres la visite aux fleurs de cerisier” etc. The moon on my skin, I remove my light summer kimono after the visit to the cherry flowers. A beautiful image of this pale woman in her summer kimono.

  • I havn’t chosen a book yet…the whole Japanese design asthetic is very calming, isn’t it. Is it because of the organised way the people occupy and use space and object, or the clean, uncluttered-ness that relaxes the mind? Perhaps both.

    • oh says:

      Hi Scarlet, Yes, it’s the uncluttered-ness. And funny how what you read can impact what’s gong on around you. I am at work cleaning up this office of mine again. The stacks and piles are blocking my “chi.”

  • ds says:

    Beautiful kimonos; what a neat festival. Looking forward to your thoughts on Manga. You are a far braver woman than I! Happy weekend!

    • oh says:

      DS, Kinda funny – got to the bookstore and they had “Emma” but it was volume 4. Sorry, I said. I really really need to start with volumne 1. so they have ordered it. sigh.

  • lalber says:

    Love the sheets! I’m stealing the bamboo design for the current scene, which features a sheet. Is that serendipity, or what? Didn’t know what the sheet should look like…

  • mee says:

    What lovely pictures! I especially fell in love with the first one. I love photography, but I’m lazy to post pictures on my site. I should start doing it.

    I like how JLC is one challenge that introduces me to so many other blogs out there that I usually miss. For some reason these blogs don’t usually join other challenges.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Mee, thanks for stopping by and you’re right! Yes, yes, post some pictures. It’s another way of telling stories.
      You’re right about JLC, too. It opens so many doors, as well and isn’t just a “genre” challenge.

  • shoreacres says:

    When I still was in grade school, I sketched a Japanese woman in a kimono on a garden bridge with colored pencils. My folks were building a new house at the time, and I used a bit of siding for my “canvas”. I knew nothing of Japanese culture then and still know very little, but I loved the clothing.

    The last photo reminds me of the block prints so common in West Africa. Beautiful.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Shore – you’re right about the resemblance to a West African “print” – I have such a tablecloth on the kitchen table right now!!! (my Mom was over and I wanted to spruce things up which always involves a well set table!)
      Must get over to your blog for a visit. I’ve been cleaning up my office (what? again? yes. It just plain got out of control when I sent Snarl to university with one my bookcases!)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Friday misc at This Writing Life ....

meta

