Time out in book world… the importance of eclectic-ism

September 17, 2009 § 7 Comments

DSC_6508photo snapped this Labor Day at the Missouri Botanical Garden of Chihuly’s “onions.”  (actually, I don’t know what he calls them, but they’re awesome). He left them behind after his art installation  three years ago. 
I take a picture at this Garden pond every year.  This year features the lily pad.

I’m gonna read in a minute.
Headed for the wing chair.
Going for total escapism, to float, if you will in reading-ness.
It’s a $7.99 paperback, it’s Charlaine Harris’s DEAD UNTIL DARK.
Nory (aka Laylou and Nora) recommended it. “Come on,  you have to buy this. You need to take a break. It’s different. You’ll like it.” She’s so sincere, she was getting out her money to buy it for me.
“Nah, I got this,” I said, always ready to get a book (if I can) and take it home without a due date attached to it.

 

 Nory is apparently on her 4th or 5th book in the Sookie Stackhouse series. Egads, Sookie Stackhouse. Yes, she has two features. One of them is being able to hear other people’s thoughts. Guess what the other one(s) is? 

Anyway, I”m reading it.
I think I’d rather watch True Blood ( or is TruBlood?), the cable series apparently based on the books. (sigh)
Then I’m going  over to Anne Lamott’s TRAVELING MERCIES  for some laughs, thoughtfulness and gentle activism.

‘later…

sookie

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Time out in book world… the importance of eclectic-ism

  • anno says:

    I’m gonna have to give Charlaine Harris another try; we didn’t connect my first attempt, but that was a few years ago.

    But first, I’ll have to get to that Annie Lamott. For me, that’s a sure thing.

    Beautiful picture — those are amazing ornaments!

  • jeanie says:

    Annie Lamott. I haven’t read her for a bit and I good use a good hit of her! As for the Harris, everyone gets guilty pleasures and/or junk reads. And if it ends up being fun, why not!

    Gorgeous “onions!” Just today I was talking with our news director who used to be a reporter at the NPR station in St. Louis and he played for me a feature he had done on the Botanical Gardens there. Sounds like a great place! And gorgeous!

  • typehype says:

    After reading your post, I visited the MO botanical gardens website to check out more of the Chihuly onions — not sure if we’ll be passing thru St. L on our drive cross-country at the end of September. Wish we could. I’d love to see them up close and in person, along with the Blue Chandelier and Sunset Herons. They are all so stunning. Thanks for sharing.

  • Ruth says:

    I like how you write.

  • Toni Gomez says:

    I have this series on my list. I do enjoy the series. I hear it is quite different. Enjoy your book.

  • Bellezza says:

    Love the photgraph! Traveling Mercies has a line about Bush’s mouth, something having to do with resembling Yertle The Turtle, which always makes me laugh even though I don’t dislike him like the rest of America did. Or, still does. Anne Lamott is such a clever writer.

  • The Books have quite different plot lines and switches to the TV show. I have loved the show, but prefer the books…( It is True Blood 🙂 The Synthetic blood they drink is Trublood) The onions are great, bet they look fantastic in situe. Oh, anf thanx for your comment. The writing has slowed a bit over the last few weeks, I am in a bit of a plot crossroads at the moment…will blog about it soon.
    BByyyeeee

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time out in book world… the importance of eclectic-ism at This Writing Life ....

meta

