PAPER: starry-eyed

September 21, 2009 § 12 Comments

DSCN7163

If you love books, you likely love paper. And if you love paper, you love art. And if you love art, you love photos. And if you love photos, you likely love books and, see? It all goes in a grand little circle.

Yesterday we were at a picnic. As I was sitting there for a caricature portrait, a woman sat next to me and began talking.
“I know you can’t turn around while you’re sitting for a portrait, but when I find out someone is from New York, I have to come over and say ‘hello” and talk to them about that beautiful place,” she said.
And I had to smile. I hoped I was smiling the same way as I had been all along so it didn’t mess up the artist but oh, well. It’s not every day you meet another New Yorker.

And so our conversation began, albeit a bit odd with me staring straight ahead and Judith (that was her name) staring straight ahead, too, in a companionable way, and it was lovely to meet her (which was the idea of the Rotary picnic to begin with…!) And when the artist finished, Judith and I kept talking and our conversation moved into books because Ridley Pearson will be speaking at Rotary this week and I asked if she were attending.
“Yes, ” she said. “Are you?”
“Yes.”
“Let’s sit together.” And the pact was made.
And then we discussed what we were reading (oh, isn’t this scintillating dialogue,but honestly, it was so nice to go from “hello, who are you” to “here’s what I’m reading,” because, well, you know how we bookaholics are!)

She asked if I’d read THE ELEGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG. No, I hadn’t. She took my arm. “You must,” she conspiratorially.
HM was standing right there as I kudo-ed Book Blogworld for already giving me a heads up on the book and fanning my interest, and HM said, “You’ve heard of it?” and I said, “Yes!” and he said, “Would you like to go to Barnes and Noble on the way home and pick it up?”
And I said, “YES!”

Oh, I could nearly have hugged my new friend Judith right then and there.
I DID hug HM.
We went to B&N.
And we found the book, along with fancy coffees and an hour “timeout” at one of the cafe tables.
And the point of all this is Paper. PAPER.

The cover of the HEDGEHOG book is so smooth. Yes, it’s a softcover.So nicely smooth, a very squared binding. Different. And it is “flapped” on the front and back, quite different than our usual softcover (trade) publications. It’s the Euro edition; not because I’m special – anyone who buys it at B&N will get the same edition.And it’s a nice blue. And I got all starry-eyed just holding it.

(switch gears…and topics…I don’t have a better transition.)

And then, like with so many bookaholics (tho’ they’re not all talkin’), there’s the desire to create something  with paper, on paper. Like writing. Art journals. Maybe something more visual. An ornament. 
Still working on it.

Make a stencil out of cardstock.
Trace onto brown paper bag. Trace two of ’em.
Cut them out. Glue ’em together, back to back but leave an opening.
Stuff tissue paper between them to “puff” them up a little, give them a soft dimension.
Then glue remaining open seam shut.
Paint both sides (not at the same time) in color you love (this one is in metallic gold).
When dry, paint a border (this one, white.)
Used black marker to create black squares on border.
Punch hole, and tie ribbon through it. (not done yet.)

One star done. A galaxy to go.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to PAPER: starry-eyed

  • litlove says:

    I still want to read The Elegance of the Hedgehog – and I will, one of these days! I have a special affection for American paperback because the paper they are printed on is much nicer than UK editions and I just love the way they hold themselves open when you lay them down. British books snap shut, which makes reading at lunch difficult!

    How did the caricature turn out?

  • Lisa D says:

    Oh, I hope you love this book as much as I did. I thought it was just lovely. I was at B&N last week and noticed that the author has another book out! So excited to check that out!

    Happy Reading! And how cool that you met a fellow book lover!

  • typehype says:

    Lovely post. Lovely handcrafted star.

    Ah, New York. Once a New Yorker, always a New Yorker, as they say. There’s comfort to be drawn from that, I think. The pangs of guilt I’d suffered about residing in L.A. when the towers fell could’ve been interpreted as delusional, I know, but New York has a way of lodging itself in your DNA. You may leave the city, but you never really leave…

  • ds says:

    Guilty as charged! I knew someone who would have adored your starcraft; if I possessed fewer than ten thumbs, I would try this (perhaps I will anyway). Love the picnic story. I am aching to read The Elegance of the Hedgehog. It is a beautiful-feeling book (oh yes, I’ve touched it. Bookaholics are very tactile people, as you say.)–and I would love the second one too. *sigh* Someday…

  • Nora says:

    1. You should post the caricature
    2. I don’t know about this Elegance of the Hedgehog book. You’ll have to show it to me =)
    3. Judith sounds lovely!

  • jeanie says:

    Well, who knew! When I opened the post and saw the first sentence and that most cool star, I thought, oh, I hope she says how she made that — she DID make it, didn’t she? And then we went into books, which of course is a lovely subject (but not the star!), and Judith who sounds like a kindred spirit you were born to meet. And I was enchanted.

    And THEN I got to learn about the star! So, I’d say not only is that beautiful, but your whole day was pretty gorgeous. And I want to see the caricature!

  • shoreacres says:

    You’ve filled my mind with stars! Stars that fell on Alabama, Jefferson Starship, Good Morning, Starshine, and especially those stars at night that shine big and bright – deep in the heart of Texas!

    This past week was Milky Way viewing time – we had one good night and I went down to the far end of Galveston Island, away from the light pollution that’s as bad as air pollution. That’s one big galaxy out there – I hope you’re on #2 by now!

  • Joanne says:

    You’re so right. It all goes round in a grand circle. Inspiration after inspiration. I’m starry eyed…

  • Arti says:

    Of course, you’ve linked them all so eloquently! I love books, and papers, and paper arts… I used to spend a lot of time doing such arts and crafts, even book and journal making too. But eclecticism has to yield to pragmatism, I just don’t have time to do so many things! And yes, do read your Hedgehog, and after you’re finished, look for Barbery’s other novel: “Gourmet Rhapsody”, you’ll find just the cover is delicious enough to lure you in. Thanks for a wonderful post!

  • sounds like a wonderful meeting of minds! I love your star, thanks for the tutorial on how to make them, I’ll perhaps make some for Christmas!

  • qugrainne says:

    Oh, what a full post! New found friend, good books, and stars in your eyes!!!
    Crafting is such fun – for me such good therapy. Mine leans more towards beads than paper, but I do some paper things too, like collages. It is such a… relief… to make something.
    And I, too, want to see that caricature, and I wonder how the book was, and your table and B&N time sounds so lovely.
    I have missed my bloggy friends so much, but I am still undecided about my time….
    It was so nice to drop in and read this post, though…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading PAPER: starry-eyed at This Writing Life ....

meta

