Book: Teaser Tuesday

October 5, 2009 § 17 Comments

tuesday_t

images

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by
MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page

BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

“Jesus Christ, Iris, you’re harbouring a lunatic you know nothing about.”
Iris sighs. “She’s not a lunatic.” 

The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox by Maggie O’Farrell
(pg 99)

 

Got  a book teaser? (as if some of us even need one, egads. ) But no, really, please do share. There’s nothing like building a TBR booklist. List? OK, yes, I mean “stack.”

 

Tagged: , , ,

§ 17 Responses to Book: Teaser Tuesday

  • Greetings Oh!

    Thank you for stopping by to commiserate with my unruly hair and my cleptomaniac tween.

    Ya want teasers? Right now I’m reading “Exploring Creation With Biology” by Dr. Jay Wile. It’s an edge-of-the-seat page turner!

    Need Proof? Here ya go:

    “It is our contention that that the formation of proteins from random chemical reactions is impossible…If the amino acids were to link up in the wrong order, or if even one of the amino acids were the wrong type, then ribonuclease would be completely unable to perform its job.”

    ********
    Sorry, I’m teaching biology this morning, so you’ll have to take my amoeba brain mode!

    Have a lovely day!

  • Crystal says:

    Very interesting teaser – I haven’t heard of this book, but I will have to go and see what it is all about.

  • Nise' says:

    Wonder if she is a lunatic.

  • jeanie says:

    OK, I’ve got to go find one. Like I don’t have anything else to do in my messy house! Cheers!

  • Nora says:

    Here you go, only because I brought my book to work in the hopes that I’d actually have time to read it during lunch (insert hysterical laughing here!):

    Charlaine Harris’ Dead to the World

    “The colonel must have been curious after Alcide’s phone call, but he asked us to come inside in a calm sort of way. He patted Alcide on the back a lot; he was very polite to me.”

    I know, I know, not “real,” literature but it’s addictive. I can’t help it.

  • alitareads says:

    Would it be better if she was harbouring a lunatic she knew lots about?

    Here’s my Teaser Tuesday.

  • anno says:

    Brilliant! I love this (and I loved this book, too). And thanks: I think you’ve given me an idea for something I can do!

  • LOL – one person’s lunatic is anothers. . . . relative?? 🙂

    Here’s my Teaser! ~ Wendi

  • Hmm. That assessment is pretty relative don’t you think? I mean it is pretty obvious even within this teaser that what one thinks/sees could be very different from anothers.

    Thanks for sharing.

  • christine says:

    Lunacy can definitely be subjective. Interesting teaser. I have not heard of this book. I will have to take a closer look at it.

  • Jeannine says:

    Great idea! Here’s my 2 line teaser from the one I’m reading – A thousand days in Tuscany by Marlena de Blasi.

    Live gracefully in plenty and live gracefully in need. Embrace them both or swindle yourself out of half a life. – p79

  • oh says:

    J – lovely. don’t know the book. about to look it up on Amazon. While I am handling my blog addiction and also my no-more-sugar addiction fairly well, I am not over trips to the bookstore. Nope, forget the library. the books are all battered and I’m hopeless regarding the fines on overdue books issue.

    And Tuscany just sounds so lovely and warm and barefoot right now as I freeze here in the Midwest – we went right from summer in the 70s range to 50s…oh, sorry, your centigrade.
    Suffice it to say that it’s cold now and it should not be!!!!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book: Teaser Tuesday at This Writing Life ....

meta

