Book: get ready…get set…

October 20, 2009 § 10 Comments

nano_09_blk_participant_100x100_1_png

National Novel Writing Month approaches and having listened to the summons from founder Chris Baty, I have once again signed up. People prepare for marathons; writers prep for Nanowrimo, signing in, fattening up their author profiles, looking with some excitement and some joy at the word count scale and thinking, though not yet writing, about their work, the story they will trudge through to reach 50,000 words in 30 days.

Ah, November.

Why that month? so many ask. Why not wait ’til January or February when there’s “nothing to do?”
I have no idea how November won the writing olympics-of-sorts, but I do know this: if you can write when you might be shopping, planning, working, cleaning, decorating, visiting and partying, yea, if you can do these things AND write, then by jove, you’ve got some  serious call to write. 

It’s a heck of an exercise, one I love.

And so we stand at the starting line, pens, PCs, laptops at the ready, ready to write our way through a story.
Join. It’s a friendly place whether you get 3,000 words or 50,000.  Check out nanowrimo.org.

Your blogging friends will understand if you “drop out” for a couple weeks. 
Come as you are. Wear what you like. Choose your hours.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 10 Responses to Book: get ready…get set…

  • Ruth says:

    And will you publish it with a blurb book? Do you know about blurb? You must.

    • oh says:

      Hi, Ruth – no, I do not know what blurb is, as in a blurb book! Do tell – I am so curious and would look it up but must do something with this hair before dashing out the door to work… later?!

  • Lisa D says:

    Oo, intriguing. Maybe I will try this next year. I fear that I am already too much of a stressball right now after starting my new job…

    But I’d love it if you’d share some of what you write!

    But yah – picking November is just cruel! But I guess it ‘separates the men from the boys’ since you must really love to write if you are going to make it a priority where there are so many other things demanding your attention!

    • oh says:

      Lisa – I hear ya’ – there’s tons to do . And you and Nora have the running thing going so you’re both getting tons of exercise without having to engage in writing “exercise” too! will keep you posted! (probably with some whining and complaining along the way, eh?)

  • Oh no, it is here already! where did this year go! Best of luck!!! U have inspired me to give it another go!

    • oh says:

      Scarlet, Not sure how “nano” is going to go this time, but there’s a certain freedom in knowing that it may/may not be anything more than a huge exercise. Which is good! Maybe you’ll join up, or maybe you’ll do your own version. Either way, hope to see more of your book sometime, yes?

  • jeanie says:

    You know, last year when you all did this, I didn’t find out in time. I don’t have a good excuse now, except life and and work and all those things — and that doesn’t hold up for squat when everyone else is in the same boat. I’ll cruise over and check it out. Checking out is not committing! But I’m very curious!

  • seachanges says:

    I’m going to wait with this until I well and truly retire…. I’ll just never find the time, all those other things that are in the way. I’ll keep it in store for now – but wish you good luck!

  • Becca says:

    Good Luck! It’s great fun and a great sense of accomplishment. Keep us posted on your progress:)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book: get ready…get set… at This Writing Life ....

meta

