New Year…

January 10, 2010 § 7 Comments


It’s so cold here in the Midwest that none of us in the neighborhood want to spend time on our porches and balconies, defrocking them of their holiday ribbons and garlands. I’m not whining, mind you.  I know winter means winter and brings along its own little specialties. But it’s so cold it freezes your nose hairs and crystallizes your moisturizer when you step outdoors!

And who’s going to undecorate, I ask you?

The dogs need encouragement (a loving push) out the back door but once into the daylight, they frolick and ignore their freezy paws, then come skidding in the house on the tiles. We blot and dry their feet and give them the proverbial “comfort” biscuit to welcome them back to the fireside.

Anyway, the house has been un-decorated except for three garlands we are loathe to remove…and you know, there’s all that general vacuuming and baseboard stuff to attend to know, given the pine needles and all. 

Wrap Up
The year seems very intent on whipping along quickly and I’m aghast to find it nearly a third of the way through already.
The Christmas Couch Club has been disbanded. What is it? was it? Well during the magical week between Christmas and New Years and when family holiday time stands on its ear and doesn’t move, Nory and I took to getting up early with the dogs – they’re like cows, you know and need to go out and have their breakfast, not unlike the ridiculous hours at which milking cows takes place as I understand it – and then could be co-erced back to bed.

That’s when Nory and I took to the couches in the living room rather than traipsing back upstairs to bed and bothering the household. No, we each claimed a couch and a quilt, popped in a DVD (holiday movie, or the first season of GLEE) and talked and watched and drifted in and out of sleep, keeping an eye on the old beagle who doesn’t sleep well and would have gladly howled up the stairs trying to rouse HM who loves a long holiday morning sleep.

And so we named ourselves the Christmas Couch Club. We did plenty of reading, too, in those early hours between 6:30 and 10:30 am.
And sometimes whipped up a really nice brunch for the boys as they straggled from their various lairs.

Books
Then it was back to work, and then, lo and behold, me having my wisdom teeth out, and so I’ve done a bit of re-enacting the CCC. And have, in the past few weeks, read a pile of books, including:
PETER AND THE STARCATCHERS  – Ridley Pearson (loved it!)
THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL SOCIETY – Barrows
DANGEROUS TO KNOW – (yup, a romance novel but not bodice-ripper)
4 issues of  THE NEW YORKER magazine
2 issues of VOGUE (now caught up)
THE BUTCHER AND THE VEGETARIAN (for book review for Sauce Magazine – yikes, forgot author!)
THE WAY MEN ACT (this and the following two are on my 2009 book list, on attached “page”)
THE PROFESSORS WIVES CLUB
UP FOR RENEWAL

Seems there was  a lot more.

The Backyard
And while couching and not eating (this “wisdom” teeth thing seems to be a different experience for anyone who has had it done), I was lucky to spot two bluebirds at the feeder. But then today, a hawk! I mean really, I know he lives in our neighborhood, but I would implore him to be more discreet than a creature watching the goings-on at our bird feeder.

Looking forward…
Yes, there are resolutions. why not? I love a fresh start, a re-organized drawer, a clean work table in my office. All of those are in progress.  and getting each in shape means unearthing treasures, things I’d forgotten about, notes for files, piles of pictures and then those magazine pages I tear out when I read and weeks later, am sometimes left wondering why I tore it out to begin with?

A sporadic communicator, I promise to be reading and/or commenting going forward in this new year as even I await to see what writing riots ensue herein and whether or not this blog will adopt a specific form….!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 7 Responses to New Year…

  • typehype says:

    Nice to have you back. I enjoyed your post, as always. Happy New Year. Happy Reading and Writing!

  • shoreacres says:

    Oh, dear. I do hope you mean January is nearly a third through and not the year, or I’ve been really, truly inattentive!

    Pesky wisdom teeth – so glad you were able to take your ease and recover at a nice, reasonable pace. Hope you’re 100% now, or nearly so, and feeling perky about the new year.

    We’re coming out of our recent cold snap – wind chills in the teens, frozen pipes everywhere, ice on the marina waters! – and people are losing their expressions of stunned disbelief. Warm is bringing rain later this week, and I’m going to make a made dash at completing the Japanese challenge – one book done, two more to go!

    I’m so glad to see you back, and just can’t wait to see what delights you find for us this year!

  • oh says:

    Oh, yeah! i did mean January was one third over!!!!

    As for the year, it can slow down anytime now. Oh geez, I should get back to my Murakami!

  • CLo says:

    Shit, we never exchanged resolutions! But that does not require me visiting to do so. How should we share family resolutions?

  • oh says:

    really? we didn’t share resolutions? that’s because mine are rather limp and straightforward (3 of them) but that’s also because I want to accomplish them. I think your dad came up with 3 of the, too. OK, I’ll start an email among the family to “share.” I have the feeling you have some rockin’ resolutions.

  • jeanie says:

    Hello, my dear — I’m back from my conference and home with the flu and will catch up with you off blog. But I have to say your holiday accomplishments so outweigh mine! I love the CCC idea — though offer sympathy about the wisdom teeth — I may join you in that malady soon enough. And, in the other post, I applaud your removal of decorations (my goal is by February 15) and the puzzle is great!

    More soon!

  • A chum recommended me to check out this page, great post, fascinating read… keep up the cool work!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading New Year… at This Writing Life ....

meta

